The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:43 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Exclamation DB Error after new module creation

Hi Geek and others,

I created a new module (a simple copy of an existing one) and made
one forum using this module.

Now if I try to enter a thread I get a db error.

Database error in vBulletin 3.5.3:

PHP Code:
Invalid SQL:
SELECT t.threadidt.titleu.usernamet.forumid FROM vb3_thread t
                                                        INNER JOIN vb3_user u ON t
.postuserid u.userid
                                                        WHERE t
.forumid in (-1,124) AND t.threadid IN (-1,9709,7647,5868,5928,6319,9705,9722,6702,6992,7646,5942,6328,11142,9710,9706,5961,9708,7645,6149,6284,6910,9707,6190,11156,7644ORDER BY RAND() LIMIT 0,; 
Can someone please help?
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2006, 12:03 PM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Did you fill all module settings ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2006, 12:16 PM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizard King
Did you fill all module settings ?
I made a copy from a default module set so all values should be correct or?
I opened the new set and It looks like every field has a value.
Problem here is that there is no info which fields are really required and which not.

A working GARS is looking great but creating new modules is a pain in the ass
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2006, 03:13 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

there is a missing setting or a corrupt copy. THe above sql is either for a featured item module or top x module. Check to make sure there are limit values on each.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-26-2006, 08:08 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I do not see any empty field.
I've done a search in this forum here and have seen that others have the same problem.

It would be good to have an error routing in GARS to show which fields are missing when creating new modules.
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-27-2006, 03:13 PM
WAR's Avatar
WAR WAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

The Limit field is blank in whatever module generated that error.

It should have said that the error was near '' on line 3 correct?

I just experienced the same error when I enabled featured articles for the first time in a new type (that I had copied from the default)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:00 PM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I've got no idea where the problem is and support seems to be limited currently
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-27-2006, 05:18 PM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

You must have different module settings and within these settings you forget to add a value to one of your modules. thats why you are receiving this error. you must check each of your modules (both showthread and forumdisplay) and check if you forget something.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-29-2006, 07:34 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Supports a bit limited right now as im just on my way back

It could be a corrupt copy... Im planning on tweaking a couple of things tomorrow to provide a permenant safety catch for this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2006, 09:17 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

This sounds very good Geek and I think It will help all customers a lot.
Can't await it...
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
articles creation dialog exactly like reviews pipin Geek Article and Review System 4 06-15-2007 07:11 PM
Error: Parse error: syntax error unexpected T_ENCAPSED_AND_WHITESPACE BeautUtes.com Geek Article and Review System 1 05-16-2007 08:12 AM
Anyway to automate the template creation? trana Geek Article and Review System 3 03-30-2006 06:01 PM
Module Creation... I've read a lot, here's a basic request/inquiry FRAiD Geek Article and Review System 10 03-07-2006 03:57 AM
Article creation from Forum submission Zate Geek Article and Review System 3 01-17-2006 06:00 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.