The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2005, 03:58 PM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Firefox shows Review Categories/Modules twice

This is really weird... Firefox shows the categories in forum display twice - it inserts the second list of Review threads and modules right after the time stamp - where the footer was suppose to begin... the footer follows after the second list.

When I hit to refresh the page - gone! Back to normal...

Anybody else running the latest beta of GARS in FireFox - Internet Explorer does not seem to ever have this issue...



Firefox 1.0.7 on Windows XP Pro...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:06 PM
Ghostsuit's Avatar
Ghostsuit Ghostsuit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 34
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

http://www.alternativenation.net/for...tive-articles/

I'm using Gars and viewing with 1.0.7 Firefox and not getting that problem. Maybe a template issuehave you editted any of them?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:27 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I dont see any difference... maybe im looking in the wrong place. Can you post a screen shot?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-09-2005, 06:49 PM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostsuit
http://www.alternativenation.net/for...tive-articles/

I'm using Gars and viewing with 1.0.7 Firefox and not getting that problem. Maybe a template issuehave you editted any of them?
Its with the reviews thread dsiplay not articles... do you have a forum using the reviews part of GARS? No I have not edited any of the templates...

Last edited by Warrior; 12-09-2005 at 06:53 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:10 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=43
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-09-2005, 07:29 PM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
I don't know... yours doesn't seem to do it. I just downloaded the templates from here yesterday... here is the screen shot:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg firefoxDOUBLEscreenBUG.jpg (141.0 KB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2005, 06:22 AM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Ummm...

I don't know too much about PHP authoring but is there a possiblility of two conditionals ringing true - both of which display the review thread display template... could my previous install of GAS templates (never deleted anything from that install - wasn't sure if I should) for vB 3.0.x be an issue?

Here is what I know about this FireFox bug:
  1. Only displays on the intital page call up - after a refresh it goes back to normal.
  2. If I hit for a hard refresh CONTROL+F5 it always displays the bug (but the browsers refresh button removes it)... possible page caching issue...
  3. Never happens in Internet Explorer
  4. Inserts duplicate in between time stamp and footer in forumdisplay.php
  5. If I click on one of the links in the duplicate copy - it tends to redirect the screen to it's indenticle link in the original above it...
I hope I am being of some help here - and explaining this well enough... I wish I had more knowledge of PHP than I do... need to get some books...

This has been an outstanding product thus far...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2005, 04:16 PM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Here is a little update...

I am having my PHP upgraded to 4.4.2 (is 4.3.2) and trying to get a reboot on the db server as well.

I'll see if this helps - honestly, all my database pages have been acting slow or not responding at all several times. If that doesn't solve it, I am going to try and move to another server...

I'll let ya know if the PHP upgrade and restart changes this issue at all...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2005, 07:25 PM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Nope - upgaded to 4.4.1 and the site seems more repsonsive (been pinging it constantly since the upgrade without any db errors so far) but still getting this layout issue in Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2005, 08:18 AM
Warrior Warrior is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 17
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Moved to an entirely new db server and upgraded to GARS RC3 - but still getting the double up... this must be something in GARS_forumdisplay... or a setting in the Forum Manager causing it...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem in 6.01 that affects IE, not FireFox KenDude Geek Auto-Linker 22 01-27-2008 05:13 PM
Titles not bold in Firefox RaceJunkie Geek Article and Review System 2 01-07-2008 04:49 PM
Author Review score shows up as member review score as well? FRAiD Geek Article and Review System 2 04-20-2007 03:20 AM
Difference in rendering between IE and FireFox Tigratrus Geek Auto-Linker 18 12-23-2006 12:37 PM
Firefox Problem Lizard King Geek Auto-Linker 12 12-05-2005 07:23 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.