The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2008, 09:41 AM
Muah Muah is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default GARS not shown in AdminCP until Admin-User is Superadmin in config.php

Hi,

i have installed GARS 2.19 on VB 3.6.8. The second Admin-User got all Admin-Rights, but he didnt see GARS in AdminCP NavFrame. Copied the Forum (files and DB) for testing update to VB 3.7.2. Same fault.

I read some threads here, but no one could solve the Problem (re-install Product, re-save Admin-Settings for user and so on).

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2008, 08:32 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Check that the ACP -> Usergroups -> Administrator Permissions -> Edit Permissions -> Can Administer GARS is set to yes, and have the other admin refresh the ACP (e.g., hit Ctrl+F5) afterwards.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2008, 10:15 PM
cluanar cluanar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

i have the same problem and they have the permission set
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2008, 03:55 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Sorry, it's a bug. I'll make a fix and post when it is available.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:57 AM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Yes have the same issue on another forum I admin on right now also. Looking forward to a fix for this.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-12-2008, 02:21 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

The latest GARS package has been updated with the fix, so you can grab the latest GARS package again and reimport the product-gars.xml file via the ACP (do not uninstall, do allow overwrite) but remember that your custom templates and phrases for GARS add-ons (i.e. the link directory and/or the release add-on) will get wiped out. After reimporting the XML file, you will need to use the GARS importer to reimport the add-ons (making sure you choose the option to import phrases and templates only).

Alternatively, you can make the required change (without reimporting the product-gars.xml file) by going to the ACP -> Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager -> edit the 'GARS - Admin Index Navigation' plugin as follows and then save the changes:

Product: GARS
Hook Location: can_administer
Title: GARS - Admin Can Administer
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:
Code:
if (in_array('canadmingars', $do))
{
	$garsadminperms = $vbulletin->db->query_first("SELECT garsadminperms
		FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "administrator
		WHERE userid = " . intval($vbulletin->userinfo['userid']) . "
	");
	if ($garsadminperms['garsadminperms'])
	{
		$return_value = true;
	}
}
Plugin is Active: Yes
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2008, 06:06 PM
cluanar cluanar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

thank you, worked like a charm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2008, 05:17 AM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Yes thank you for the fix. Worked great.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2010, 09:01 AM
ThailandTopper ThailandTopper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Hi,

I'm running vB 3.8.4 and am having this exact same problem. I've just purchased this today so I'm relatively sure I've got the latest updates.

I've tried everything I know of and tried everything in this thread, even to doing the above mod manually to the can-administer hook.

If you have any other hints, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2010, 09:28 AM
ThailandTopper ThailandTopper is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

I simply can't make myself an administrator of GARS. I've tried everything from deleting my permissions from the config.php file to adding them back in and everything in between. I've double and triple checked the files and their location.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying forumview.php and showthread.php for GARS only? Lars-Christian Geek Article and Review System 9 04-11-2007 07:20 PM
New GARS owner: Where is a custom field shown? jasbell Geek Article and Review System 6 03-01-2007 09:16 AM
No GARS in AdminCP Tee Geek Article and Review System 1 06-03-2006 12:00 AM
Top x queries on GARS user and admin ratings? mlrst Geek Article and Review System 6 02-16-2006 09:10 PM
[fixed] - Config Inc File gldtn Geek Advertising Banner System 1 10-19-2005 05:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.