The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-23-2009, 10:33 AM
MotMann MotMann is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 161
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default Module with Banner code

What i must do, if i need on the right side a Bannermodule in Forumdisplay?

I create in Module > Review Module > Switch to Forumdisplay > create a custon Module on the right side.

But i don't found the way, where i can put the html Bannercode in (from Google) ...

Last edited by MotMann; 07-23-2009 at 10:52 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-24-2009, 01:05 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

If you want the ads as a module, you would need to create a PHP file in the /geek/gars/mode/display directory. Files in that directory are used to display content to the screen, and you can look at the files currently there is get examples of how to create the PHP file and then add that file as a module, or you could edit the GARS_forumdisplay template, assuming that is the template you are using for the forumdisplay page.

In the GARS_forumdisplay template are variables like the following, where X is 1, 2, 3, or 4:
Code:
$show[GARS_modpositionX]
  • 1: Above threads
  • 2: Left of threads
  • 3: Right of threads
  • 4: Below threads
Look for those variables in the template and add your ad code where you want it to appear.

Similarly, in the GARS_pb template are variables like the following, where X is 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6:
Code:
$post[GARS_modpositionX]
  • 1: Above Header
  • 2: Inside Header
  • 3: Below Header
  • 4: Left of content
  • 5: Right of content
  • 6: Below content
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-24-2009, 02:22 PM
MotMann MotMann is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 161
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I use these Code in GARS_forumdisplay template

HTML Code:
<if condition="$show[GARS_columns]">
    <if condition="$show[GARS_modposition3]">
        </td><td valign="top" width="$stylevar[gars_mod_width]" style="padding-top:10px; padding-$stylevar[left]:10px">
                $show[GARS_modposition3]
                <br />
                <img src="clear.gif" width="$stylevar[gars_mod_width]" alt="" height="1px" border="0" />
                
                <!-- Google Start-->
                <center>
                <script type="text/javascript"><!--
google_ad_client = "pub-XXXXXXXXXXXX";
/* 160x600, Xbox Skyscraper */
google_ad_slot = "XXXXXXXXX";
google_ad_width = 160;
google_ad_height = 600;
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
</script>
                <!-- Google End -->
        </td>
    </if>
</tr></table>
</if>
<if condition="$show[GARS_modposition4]">
Is that correct?

Last edited by MotMann; 07-24-2009 at 02:55 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-24-2009, 04:48 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Note that you placed the Google code inside if-template conditionals, which will work as long as you have a module on forumdisplay to the right of threads.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-24-2009, 11:49 PM
MotMann MotMann is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 161
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Sorry.. i don't understand you. Im from Germany

Did you mean, that the Banner goes away, until i don't displayd the modules on the right side? That's i know....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-27-2009, 05:07 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Yes, the way you have it, it goes away when there is no right of threads module.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-27-2009, 06:09 PM
henrikhansen henrikhansen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 129
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

MotMann, if you have trouble with this, it might be more easy for you to use the Template add on module (in the add-on section). Some people use this add on for adsense. If you use this, you create a template for your adsense code which the template module will handle for you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom Module for advertisement code Haydies Geek Article and Review System 3 10-05-2008 02:15 AM
I bought it, but where's the code? ahoogerhuis Geek Auto-Linker 2 01-22-2008 05:46 PM
Who here can code? Hornstar6969 Geek Article and Review System 0 09-27-2006 10:35 AM
Need some code .. . cant' do it myself .. . Santai Geek Article and Review System 2 02-21-2006 04:35 PM
bb code in byline kidmercury Geek Article and Review System 0 11-09-2005 08:08 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.