The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2009, 06:48 AM
jl255 jl255 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Reputation Bug

There seems to be a bug with the reputation system with GARS. I know that it can be found in the tools module. However this is what i observe:

For some members, the reputation link appears in the tools module. HOWEVER, it does not allow adding of reputation when you click. Rather it goes to a page that says how much reputation has been added for the article instead of the usual drop-down box. Looking at the source code, there is something funny:

HTML Code:
<td class="alt1" style="font-size: 8pt;"><img class="inlineimg" border="0" src="http://www.abc.com/images/sgclub1/buttons/reputation.gif" alt="" /> <a href="http://www.abc.com/reputation.php?p=2110493" rel="nofollow">Add to Clumpsyjoe Reputation</a> </td>
The entire portion of the code found in the GARS_tools template:
<a href="infraction.php?$session[sessionurl]do=report&amp;p=$post[postid]" rel="nofollow">

is missing before the reputation image. Is there a problem with the variable?

That is not all, for SOME other members, the reputation button don't even appear! It just doesn't show. Not sure which members, but I've identified at least one other member that has happened.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2009, 08:04 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

In the GARS_tools template, the following template conditional is used so the reputation icon should only show to those members that have permission:
Code:
<if condition="$show['reputationlink']"></if>
If you have the reputation system enabled in the vBulletin Options, then check the reputation settings via the ACP -> Usergroups -> Usergroup Manager -> Edit Usergroup -> User Reputation Permissions.

The reputation links goes to the /forum/reputation.php?p=postid page, where users can approve or disapprove, and add a comment. If you want to have the pop-up box instead, you would need to edit the GARS_tools template, adding in those bits you want from the default vBulletin templates. The same goes for the infraction link. You'll be able to find these things in the vBulletin postbit template. Copy from there what you want and paste it into the GARS_tools template. While the GARS templates have some of the same features as the vBulletin templates, they are not identical copies so you may need to edit to get the look and feel you want for your site.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2009, 08:24 AM
jl255 jl255 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

tks. i am the administrator and the add reputation button is still not displayed for some members but displayed for others. thus it is not a problem with the permissions as the button appears for some members and not others.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2009, 12:47 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Do your members see the reputation icon if you temporarily untype a forum? Are you using the same template for the GARS postbit template in all types?
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2009, 02:41 AM
jl255 jl255 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 14
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Yes they see the reputation icon if i remove the GARS feature from the forum. And yes, i'm using the same template for the postbit. I will PM you the links to demonstrate.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a little bug joh Geek Article and Review System 3 10-06-2006 04:48 PM
Bug, please help albn99 Geek Article and Review System 12 01-13-2006 07:51 PM
Bug Seiken Geek Article and Review System 1 12-27-2005 10:05 AM
Reputation Link benFF Geek Article and Review System 14 12-09-2005 04:24 PM
reputation points kafi Geek Article and Review System 1 11-10-2005 08:58 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.