The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2008, 09:07 PM
Milly Milly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Brought Gars but need to upload it...

I'm a newbie at using the vBulletin forums. I have recently purchased it and had the latest version install (3.7.1).

Right now I'm desperately trying to get GARS installed myself. I have tried twice and both times I've gotten error messages (which is all my fault...I'm not new to uploading just couldn't figure out this whole vBulletin thing...).

Upload the contents of the upload/forums folder to your forums directory

Can anyone clarify the above direction for me? (Like what directory exactly, etc.)

Thanks,

Milly
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2008, 06:39 PM
henrikhansen henrikhansen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 129
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

It is the folder where your vbulletin files are that is refered to here. If that folder is folder is called "forum" you upload to the folder "forum". If that folder is called "vbulletin" you upload to the folder "vbulletin". Most likely, the relevant folder is called forum or forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2008, 10:29 PM
Milly Milly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Thanks very much for the reply.

I went ahead and did all that and I'm still receiving an error as follows:

Warning: Unknown([path]/geek/gars/includes/gars_ignition.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/global.php(365) : eval()'d code on line 1

Fatal error: (null)() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/[edited out my website here]/public_html/geek/gars/includes/gars_ignition.php' (include_path='/usr/lib/php:.:/usr/php4/lib/php:/usr/local/php4/lib/php') in /home/[edited out my website here]/public_html/global.php(365) : eval()'d code on line 1


I'm using vB 3.7.1 and downloaded GARS 2.1.8m (not sure if this matters ) I've edited out my forum name b/c I really want it to be a private community.

Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2008, 10:52 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

If [edited out my website here] is your main forum directory, then the gars_ignition.php file should be at
http://[edited out my website here]/geek/gars/includes/gars_ignition.php i.e., you should have the /geek directory inside the directory that contains the vB showthread.php file, e.g., /home/[edited out my website here]/public_html/geek/gars/includes/gars_ignition.php
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2008, 11:29 PM
Milly Milly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

That worked. Thanks a whole lot! However, I uploaded the xml file and refreshed and don't see the GARS in my AdminCP. (sorry for being such a pain)

Last edited by Milly; 06-08-2008 at 11:35 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2008, 12:36 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Give yourself access: ACP -> Usergroups -> Administrator Permissions -> Edit Permissions -> Can Administer GARS -> Yes and then refresh your AdminCP (Ctrl+F5).
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-09-2008, 05:36 AM
Milly Milly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morgan View Post
Give yourself access: ACP -> Usergroups -> Administrator Permissions -> Edit Permissions -> Can Administer GARS -> Yes and then refresh your AdminCP (Ctrl+F5).
Ok, I went through all those steps several times but every time I refresh the setting is back to "No".

I've went back to look over the directions again. Chod the folders to 0777 that needed to be but still getting setting stuck on "No"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-09-2008, 05:45 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

After you tick the yes radio button, do you click the save button? Forgot that part in the -> steps, so just asking to make sure.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2008, 06:17 AM
Milly Milly is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morgan View Post
After you tick the yes radio button, do you click the save button? Forgot that part in the -> steps, so just asking to make sure.
Yes, after I click save I go on to refresh and I see nothing. Once I go back into

ACP -> Usergroups -> Administrator Permissions -> Edit Permissions -> Can Administer GARS

The "yes" is back at "No".

Last edited by Milly; 06-09-2008 at 06:19 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-10-2008, 04:45 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Check that the bitfield_gars.xml file is located inside the /forum/includes/xml directory where /forum is the directory that contains the vB showthread.php file.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Limit file upload size (Thumbnail to original image upload) -RL- Geek Article and Review System 1 03-24-2008 06:25 PM
[GARS] Upload new image don't work JD82 Geek Article and Review System 14 03-16-2008 12:57 PM
GARS: Upload button for headerimage missing pixie Geek Article and Review System 2 03-02-2008 09:48 AM
pics will not upload to gars vbreal Geek Article and Review System 1 02-13-2008 11:08 PM
Can't get this to upload on my site bassnutz GeekMart 9 07-12-2007 08:11 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.