The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Auto-Linker

Geek Auto-Linker GAL automatically links keywords that users type in posts to advertising hover pop-ups.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2007, 09:35 PM
John D John D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default A few problems

Hey,

When I enter $ it doesn't show all numbers.

The stats option in the dropdown doesn't show anything, just the Jelsoft copyright notice.
__________________
John D
DeuceAce.com -A mature poker forum
GamblingAffiliatez.com - For all your gambling affiliate needs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2007, 09:51 PM
quiklink quiklink is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Yup ran into this as well. Put a space between the $ sign and the number. It appears that the script is interpreting it as an empty string variable otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2007, 08:58 PM
John D John D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 32
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Really sorry to say, but this just caused a major pain in the ass...

I used $ for every promotion I had going and everything came up as 0 and really took my clickthroughs and signups down costing a lot more than the script did...

Can we get a fix for this soon please.
__________________
John D
DeuceAce.com -A mature poker forum
GamblingAffiliatez.com - For all your gambling affiliate needs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2007, 09:20 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

To be honest, Im not 100% sure what you are talking about. Where are you putting the $?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2007, 10:54 PM
quiklink quiklink is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

In the description of the link (ie: the text displayed in the autolink popup in my case). If you want to say show the price of something the system seems to see the $ as the start of an (empty) string and so it replaces it with a blank string. So if I put in $50.00 all you would see is .00

What I had to do was put it is $ 50.00 for it to not consider it a string.

Last edited by quiklink; 07-10-2007 at 10:56 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-11-2007, 07:16 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I see... You just need to escape the $ as it is a sign for a variable. So, $50 becomes \$50

HTHs!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2007, 07:24 AM
quiklink quiklink is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
I see... You just need to escape the $ as it is a sign for a variable. So, $50 becomes \$50

HTHs!
Was the first thing I tried. Didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2007, 07:36 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

hmmm, that should do it. What about using the HTML character: & # 3 6 ; (without the spaces)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-11-2007, 07:40 AM
quiklink quiklink is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
hmmm, that should do it. What about using the HTML character: & # 3 6 ; (without the spaces)
As embarrassing as it sounds, I couldn't for the life of me remember or quickly find the damn code for the $ character...that should work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-11-2007, 08:21 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

hrhr, I cant ever remember them all, a quick google for html special character symbols did the trick though
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems.... AzzidReign Geek Gazette 8 01-02-2009 07:41 AM
Phrase problems :) PaintSplasher Geek Article and Review System 2 01-08-2007 02:14 PM
Forum display problems & rating problems gldtn Geek Article and Review System 1 12-20-2006 07:32 AM
4.8 problems h2ojunkie Geek Auto-Linker 6 12-11-2006 09:12 AM
Text problems ant0nio Geek Article and Review System 1 12-01-2006 08:12 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.