The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2007, 08:02 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Header Image

Forgive me for being daft but I have not figured out why editing the article provides a place to upload new image but the image is not replaced. I keep getting the same old image. A new article was created and uploading a new image was attempted only to give the same old image.

Are there directions somewhere because the wiki does not have links to such things as installation, etc and I am just running around trying different things. Getting the CMPS module to work took a full hour of reading through a thread but it works ! Maybe something isn't setup correctly for uploading images (set to 777).

__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-03-2007, 09:17 PM
convergent convergent is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 112
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

it should update the image, so definitely something is wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2007, 10:19 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by convergent View Post
it should update the image, so definitely something is wrong.
Still no success. I even tried different size images in case there was a size limitation.

Any ideas on where to look for settings to see if something is now set properly?

Safe Mode is set correctly.
__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics

Last edited by LPH; 06-03-2007 at 11:24 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2007, 05:19 AM
convergent convergent is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 112
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Probably TheGeek will have to help you... he's usually on here during the week.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2007, 03:00 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

I can upload images in vbnews, so there must be a problem with the GARS script. At one point, images were not uploading in vbnews because vbseo is installed; vbnews.php couldn't be renamed to index.php and this is why CMPS is now installed. However, I prefer to shift to GARS and CMPS as long as the layout is fixed (and images upload properly).

Hopefully someone can help.
__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2007, 06:21 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

More information

I asked on the vbseo board about gars and vbseo script compatibility. Embarrassingly, I did not disable vbseo to see about image uploads. This still did not help - so - the problem is definitely on the gars end.

Any ideas?
__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2007, 06:29 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LPH View Post
More information

I asked on the vbseo board about gars and vbseo script compatibility. Embarrassingly, I did not disable vbseo to see about image uploads. This still did not help - so - the problem is definitely on the gars end.

Any ideas?
At least I figured out how to navigate the wiki !

Geez. Make it so complicated to find the information. A simple table of contents on the main page would suffice.

Regardless, image paths are correct. So something isn't right. Any one?
__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-04-2007, 07:39 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

A little bit more information:

Disabled the cache in 2.1.8c and the edit of the article looks completely different. Now I am able to see a gallery. However, choosing a different image appears fine within the thread, the CMPS module now shows text rather than an image.

I should state that I have to upload the image in the admincp in order to get the gallery choices.

This is the html source for the CMPS module:

<img src="http://www.insanepolitics.comhttp://www.insanepolitics.com/geek/gars/images/types/1/thumb_World Pusher.jpg" border="0" style="border: 1px #000000;padding:2px;" alt="Hilary Clinton and the Seven Dwarfs" />

Notice the duplication?
__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics

Last edited by LPH; 06-04-2007 at 08:02 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-04-2007, 08:35 PM
LPH's Avatar
LPH LPH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

I love talking to myself

The cache setting is definitely a clue. Cache setting is turned off and the alphabetic navbar works, featured article shows, gallery shows. However, CMPS image doesn't work (url duplicated) and still cannot upload header image in browser but can upload in admincp.

Maybe I need to just remove the script
__________________
Tux Reports Network

Technology Questions | Insane Politics
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2007, 03:46 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

First, make sure that you are running the latest version of GARS. Next clean out your file cache by deleting all of the *.php files from geek/gars/cache and its sub folders. The go to your GARS settings page and click save. That will rebuild your file cache and should solve the problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Header Image creating new folder when uploading image Columbo Geek Article and Review System 1 10-22-2008 07:22 AM
Header image attroll Geek Article and Review System 1 11-10-2006 05:57 PM
Header Image in dropdown RaZor Edge Geek Article and Review System 7 08-21-2006 11:38 AM
header image? SRH Geek Article and Review System 3 06-16-2006 10:52 PM
Header image coldblooded Geek Article and Review System 2 10-17-2005 09:05 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.