The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:08 PM
Ohiosweetheart Ohiosweetheart is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 53
Unhappy vb Version upgrade fiasco

I upgraded my vBulletin to 3.6.6 today and totally messed up my header templage. Now I can't figure out where to place the GABS code - again.
Could you help me please?

Below is the portion of my header templage where the banners were and where I want them again. I'm assuming that the gabs code would go in the area that I have in red. There's a banner there now because I had to revert. grrrrrrrrrrrrrr...


Code:
<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<!-- open content container -->
<if condition="$show['old_explorer']">
	<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" align="center"><tr><td class="page" style="padding:0px $stylevar[spacersize]px 0px $stylevar[spacersize]px">
<else />
<div align="center">
	<div class="page" style="width:$stylevar[outerdivwidth]; text-align:$stylevar[left]">
<table cellpadding='0' cellspacing='0' width='100%'>
<tr>
<td colspan="5" style="background: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/logobg.gif) #91ACC1; background-repeat: repeat-x; height:79px; width: 50%; border-bottom:1px solid #E9F0F6;border-top:0px;"><div><a href="index.php"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/logo2.gif" border="0" style="padding-left:30px;" /></a></td>
<td colspan="5" style="background: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/logobg.gif) #91ACC1; background-repeat: repeat-x; height:79px; width: 50%; border-bottom:1px solid #E9F0F6;border-top:0px" width="50%"> <img src="http://www.talkvbulletin.com/banners/talkvb468x60a.gif" border="0" style="float: right;"></td></tr>

EDIT: OMG, I can't believe it, but I fixed it myself!!! Thanks anyway

Last edited by Ohiosweetheart; 05-12-2007 at 05:14 PM.. Reason: fixed it myself!!!!!!!!! yaaayyy me!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2007, 05:29 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

lol , glad its sorted
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:40 AM
pixie pixie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 190
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Are there any known incompatibilties or issues regarding the v3.6.6 release? I am really afraid of losing all of my custom GARS/ GAB / GAL settings, phrases, etc. when doing the upgrade.

Will I have to manually edit all of the templates again??

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2007, 11:58 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

So far I have tested GARS and although some of the templates will need to be updated it looks like its working fine. ANy template change you manually made (i.e. with GAB ) will most likely need to be made again. GAL should be fine.

Please note that I havent fully tested all systems yet though.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-14-2007, 02:37 PM
pixie pixie is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 190
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Thanks for your quick reply. Never change a running system, eh? I'll better wait a little!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2007, 03:05 PM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixie View Post
Thanks for your quick reply. Never change a running system, eh? I'll better wait a little!
I've updated my board to vb3.6.6 and I had no problems with GARS or GAL .
All of my custom phrases are still there and so far I did not found a problem.
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-18-2007, 08:13 AM
reteep reteep is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Went throught without a problem here.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
should I upgrade? Lionel Geek Article and Review System 0 04-28-2007 04:04 PM
Upgrade efil Geek Article and Review System 9 08-12-2006 01:48 PM
Upgrade from 1.0x to 2.0x efil Geek Article and Review System 1 08-11-2006 05:41 PM
upgrade? dsurban Geek Auto-Linker 3 06-01-2006 01:32 AM
Upgrade Invisible Man Geek Article and Review System 1 01-03-2006 06:25 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.