The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2007, 10:20 PM
FRAiD FRAiD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder 
Default ScreenShots module?

Is there a module for screenshots? To take them and auto resize etc?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2007, 03:01 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

You can use the custom fields module and set up some thumbnail to original custom fields
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2007, 04:13 AM
FRAiD FRAiD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Ok, I am trying to make one.

I titled it Screenshots and used custom_fields.php, but what templates do I need to cache?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2007, 06:28 AM
FRAiD FRAiD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Ok, I got it to work but I'm only able to add one screenshot. Is there a way to add more? Or am I going to have to make multiple custom fields? Because if that's the case, it won't look good having 3 seperate boxes down a line each holding one image.

Also, what about the template cache thing? Or should I not worry about that?

Last edited by FRAiD; 04-18-2007 at 06:57 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:04 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

You would need a custom field for each screenshot. You chouldnt need to cache any additional templates if you are using the default custom field module
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2007, 08:17 PM
FRAiD FRAiD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder 
Default

But is there anyway to add multiple screenshots in one module?

I don't want to have like 3 individual boxes running down the side of the review each containing just one image (which is what I think you're suggesting). I'd prefer to have one box with as many images as I'd like to add.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2007, 11:18 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Sure, just edit the custom fields module in your set and tick which fields to show.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2007, 03:39 AM
FRAiD FRAiD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Sure, just edit the custom fields module in your set and tick which fields to show.
Emm... I'm not sure I follow you
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2007, 09:25 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Edit the module set. Then click on the Custom Fields module. There you can adjust its settings accordingly (i.e. select WHICH custom fields to show)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2007, 09:54 AM
FRAiD FRAiD is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 177
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Ok, now I see what you're saying, but I'm having two problems:

I put in four different "Thumnail to original upload" custom field modules (for multiple screenshots). Went into my module set and made sure they were all ticked "yes" to display. And when I try and post a review I'm only given the option to post 1 screenshot. There are not four "browse" buttons to select an image from your computer for upload. There is only one.

(I tried to go back and edit the image hoping that it'd add another image, but it just replaces the first image I uploaded [which is what I expected it to do anyway])

Is there a way to let four of these work?

Also, is there a way to put some of the stuff on the same line?

i.e. I have a custom field single text entry module that only takes up about 12 characters (for both the title and the text that would be entered in). But it seperates the two by dropping it down below the title of the custom field entry. Is there a way to fix this?

Oh, and by the way, are attachments (screenshots) stored in a folder in the geek directory? Or are they a part of the SQL database?

Last edited by FRAiD; 04-21-2007 at 10:29 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAB screenshots / Install instructions zimdude Geek Advertising Banner System 1 07-13-2009 02:29 PM
Screenshots John3971 Geek Advertising Banner System 1 04-02-2008 05:05 PM
Screenshots or DEMO please. :) lord_brar Geek Auto-Linker 8 07-27-2007 07:44 PM
screenshots/demo ragtek Geek Advertising Banner System 1 03-07-2007 12:29 PM
Taking the contents of the rating module out of the module? Chief Corn Geek Article and Review System 3 12-01-2006 06:40 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.