The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2007, 08:21 PM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default No input file specified.

Oopsie!

I installed the Lite version earlier today, like it that much I paid for the full version.

Because I couldnt see any upgrade instructions I performed the following.

1. Uninstalled the Lite Version
2. Uploaded, all the files from the Zip File as per instructions. (overwritting all the Lite files in the process)
3. Went to Products and imported product-gars.xml.

At this point the phone rang, so i went downstairs for 15 minutes. Came backup and there was a warning stating that there was already a version installed, and that i should use Overwrite, Which i did.

It took a very long time, say 5 minutes or something for the product to install, when it "completed" there was only a white screen. I then refreshed admincp but there was no GARS link to the left, and to make matters worse I cannot get into the plug ins area. None of the links under "Plugin System" work anymore. They all show a white screen stating "No input file specified."

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:08 AM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Just a quick update.

I added define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true); to Config to try and disable Plugins - this didnt work I was still unable to access the plugins Area on Admincp.

I also done a repair/optimise on the DB through AdminCP - Still nothing.

Ill keep poking around, but im running out of ideas.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:13 AM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

hmmm, how odd.. was about to check plugin.php and i Get permission denied. Can't open it (ftp) or copy it locally, might be onto something here. will locate original files, and try to replace it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:17 AM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

ok, well thats fixed it...

Any ideas why it corrupted the plugin.php file?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2007, 09:32 AM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Heh, starting to do my head in now.

After swapping the plugin.php i was able to see my plugins, one of which was the GARS version i downloaded.

First i tried to import, overwritting.. however i got the following error
Quote:
Originally Posted by Server
Server Error
The following error occurred:
[code=SERVER_RESPONSE_CLOSE] The server closed the connection while reading the response. Contact your system administrator.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please contact the administrator.
So, then back to plug in system and uninstalled the GARS version listed. (which went very quickly.)

Back to import and again got..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Server
Server Error
The following error occurred:
[code=SERVER_RESPONSE_CLOSE] The server closed the connection while reading the response. Contact your system administrator.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please contact the administrator.
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:49 AM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Bit more info.

Here are the tables it completes
VB3_gars
VB3_gars_custom_fields
VB3_gars_custom_values
VB3_gars_marked
VB3_gars_module_sets
VB3_gars_module_set_details
VB3_gars_ratings
VB3_gars_rating_questions
VB3_gars_rating_users
VB3_gars_templates
VB3_gars_terms

No templates are injected.

EDIT: using version 2.1.4

Last edited by BraindG; 02-19-2007 at 10:59 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:06 PM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Could this be a problem?

$db->query_write("ALTER TABLE `". TABLE_PREFIX ."gars_module_set_details` CHANGE `order` `ordinal` SMALLINT( 6 ) NOT NULL DEFAULT '0' ;");

there is no order in Module_set_details. (nor is there any other reference to order anywhere else in the xml)

im manually altering, and creating the tables from the xml after having worked out at which point it fails.

Ill keep playing..

Last edited by BraindG; 02-19-2007 at 05:16 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-2007, 05:52 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Hey there, that table does exist (you referenced it in your previous post )

Are you using the latest version of vB and if not, which version are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:30 PM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

i meant collumn 'order' in gars_module_set_details.

im on vb 3.5.3.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-2007, 06:34 PM
BraindG BraindG is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

ive been downloading the other versions 2.1.3 does the same but 2.0.2 works fine.

just gonna do a beyond compare on them two sets of files.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unexpected character in input error MichelleB Geek Article and Review System 2 09-10-2009 06:04 PM
No input file specified. ? BowlingBoards.com Geek Article and Review System 1 01-21-2009 04:21 PM
Need to input 2 words for links to work in BB Code tables waltercat Geek Auto-Linker 4 06-05-2006 10:23 PM
File upload error, max file size reached.... LLIFE Geek Article and Review System 3 01-11-2006 06:35 PM
File upload file type question..... LLIFE Geek Article and Review System 1 01-11-2006 06:24 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.