The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2006, 12:16 AM
inthezone inthezone is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default GAB on non-vB pages?

With GAB , can I place banners on non-vB pages (that is, pages that call global.php, but don't use any of vB's templates)?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2006, 01:13 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

If it calls global.php then yes, however you will need to still the output varibale somewhere (i.e. $GAB_ads[0] to see anything).
You will also need to make sure that the page has a THIS_SCRIPT def (e.g. define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'forumdisplay); )
Whatever it is defined as (forumdisplay in the above example) is the script name. You then need to add that name to GAB via admincp-> gab ->scripts->add new. Just enter the script name and make it use the master settings.

HTHs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-2006, 06:18 AM
Hornstar6969 Hornstar6969 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 141
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Just a quick question.

I'm using a cms that is non vbulletin, but I got it integrated into vbulletin recently. However to do this, I had to copy the whole includes folder from the forums and make a copy of it in the root directory (www) Because it was looking for the global.php file.

I tried changing the files to look in the forums, however then that caused other problems. Was there a special way to call for global.php that I should have used?

Also, I would like to integrate this into the non vb pages as well (in the cms)

Those above tips were a bit over my head, can someone give me another example (a little bit simpler would be nice) I didnt understand this part
Quote:
however you will need to still the output varibale somewhere (i.e. $GAB_ads[0] to see anything).
You will also need to make sure that the page has a THIS_SCRIPT def (e.g. define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'forumdisplay); )
Whatever it is defined as (forumdisplay in the above example) is the script name.
Thanks for any tips I can get, it will be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-2006, 04:44 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

What I would do (instead of copying all includes over) is :
PHP Code:
chdir('forums/');
require_once(
'global.php');
chdir('../'); 
Basically, that changes your working directory to your forum directory... then runs global... then changes it back.

Ill try to do a tutorial on adding scripts. Its pretty straight forward once you get your head around it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2006, 06:58 AM
Hornstar6969 Hornstar6969 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 141
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

finally got time to do it.

It worked perfect. new I could count on you ^^

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAB and GAB Stats for vB4 have been released Morgan Announcements 0 05-19-2010 01:58 AM
GAB 2.x >>> GAB beta versions Tigratrus Geek Advertising Banner System 3 04-01-2008 05:59 AM
GAB on vBadvanced Links 2.01 pages? TheAllusionist Geek Advertising Banner System 5 08-10-2007 10:41 PM
gab doesnt work on some pages. benj Geek Advertising Banner System 3 09-26-2006 06:42 PM
TRying to download GAB, but it is downloading it as GAB read on LincolnForums Geek Advertising Banner System 5 06-07-2006 06:29 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.