The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:39 AM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default Title posted twice

I created a new module. Now when I view a new post in that module the title is posted twice and one of them is in BOLD.

You can see it here:
http://www.eaglegraphix.com/forum/showthread.php?t=59

Any idea of why this would be happening?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2006, 07:05 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Let me guess - youre using FireFox?

What you're seeing is a broken link to the header image.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:23 PM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default

No IE.







LOL .....Just kidding yeah FF.
So is this being fixed in the GOLD version when it comes out? Or is there something I can do to fix it?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2006, 05:11 PM
waltercat waltercat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 239
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Is there really a fix? I think the only solution is to use an image. I'm not quite sure how the supress header image in the type setting works.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:12 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Yea, not really a fix. The supression is really taking into consideration that you are using a different template.

So - no fix, just get an image or different tempalte
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:12 PM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default

Thanks you two. But I am still having this problem. I tried it in IE and it does this to.

So what do you mean by use an image?

I have tried different template and the only one that seemed to work was GARS_simple_pb, but the title text was VERY LARGE. Can I edit the simple_pb to make the title text small without hurting anything else?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:33 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Yup, or just create a new template: GARS_my_pb - then copy and paste the GARS_pb code into it and edit how you see fit.
Ill look to add a template conditional for when an image isnt there (I assume you are NOT wanting an image to appear?)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:35 PM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default

I was just wanting the title. I am trying to make a good looking logo contest module.

I will play with a new template. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-07-2006, 01:52 AM
waltercat waltercat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 239
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Geek also suggested using a clear.gif image that basically fools the code into thinking there is an image, yet really all there is is a blank space. I think he meant to upload an blank gif file with transparancy turned on. However when I did this, it still showed a broken link in IE.

I think your best bet is to edit the template.

Or let your logo contest people upload thier logo to that spot.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-07-2006, 01:54 AM
mac27's Avatar
mac27 mac27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 84
GeekMart License Holder 
Default

I am gonna do the template edit.

Users can't upload a logo to that spot because they are requesting for a logo to be designed.

Thanks though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This is a test title mreyes Reviews 1 08-08-2008 09:52 AM
title June GARS Link Directory 0 03-04-2008 07:22 AM
title kevnj Reviews 1 10-26-2006 08:01 AM
Articles posted by user in profile page? trana Geek Article and Review System 4 08-10-2006 06:37 PM
Ratings Not Being Posted WhatChaMissin Geek Article and Review System 2 04-20-2006 01:16 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.