The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:56 PM
Danny W Danny W is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default 2 Questions

I've just looked in the Tutorials Forum of this GARS Section and noticed that it had an #-Z link section above the threads, does that come with GARS? If so whats the name of it? It'd be really useful for a cheats section.

The Second Question is would i be able to use GARS on my homepage instead of using the vBa cmps style?

Thanks for any replies
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:36 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

The #-z option comes with GARS and it can be turned on and off per type.

No, you can not use GARS for the home page - however I am playing around with v3 that may be able to let you do this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:47 PM
Danny W Danny W is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Thanks for replying, but sorry for being stupid but how do I turn it on? I've tried enabling 'Default thread sort to alphabetical' to see if it would appear but it never.

Thanks again.

EDIT: By the way its v1.01 i'm running.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2006, 09:23 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Oh right

Its only availible in 2.0!

Sorry
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-17-2006, 12:15 PM
Danny W Danny W is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
Oh right

Its only availible in 2.0!

Sorry
Thats ok, no problem. I'll just upgrade

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-17-2006, 02:01 PM
Danny W Danny W is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

I have another problem now...I've upgraded to v2.0 but when I try to use the custom fields they dont seem to show. I've followed your Tutorial and even cleared the Module Cache but it still wont appear, do you have any idea what could be wrong?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-17-2006, 05:11 PM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny W
I have another problem now...I've upgraded to v2.0 but when I try to use the custom fields they dont seem to show. I've followed your Tutorial and even cleared the Module Cache but it still wont appear, do you have any idea what could be wrong?

Thanks
Did you revert your templates ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-17-2006, 07:54 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Also make sure your geek/gars/cache and all subfolders (and files) are chmodded to 0777

HTHs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-17-2006, 11:09 PM
Danny W Danny W is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Tried both of them suggestions, still nothing

Thanks for replying though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2006, 12:27 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Have you assigned them to your type?

i.e. Create your custom field, edit a type and tick the fields you want to assign to it.

If you want the results to display, there is a basic custom field module though that too needs to be edited to tick which fields to display.

Check both of those (also resave your settings)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.