The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Auto-Linker

Geek Auto-Linker GAL automatically links keywords that users type in posts to advertising hover pop-ups.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Old 08-14-2006, 09:52 PM

Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default Performance Issues and Linking an Exact Phase Only

Hi,

I'm new to the this Geek Autolinker so forgive me if these questions have been answered:

1. I just bought this and I'm wondering if anyone has used it for a large board over 1 million posts and if there's any performance issues. What type of performance hit should one expect from GAL ?

As I understand it, GAL parses the entire contents of each posts each time something is loaded, doesn't that make it use a lot of resources? Anyone with any personal experience?

2. I'd like to link exact phrases only so if I wanted to link car, it shouldn't link the word carbon, how can I achieve that?

3. I'm trying to use multiple words seperated by a comma for the replacement text in an item but I didn't seem to work. Does the order matter in this case? For example if I use the following in the replacement text field would it work?

1and1, 1 and 1, 1 & 1, 1and1.com, 1and1's, 1and1.com's

Thanks for your help in advance!
Old 08-15-2006, 09:49 AM

Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 

Hi there.

There are performance considerations that must be made when using GAL , however like anything its a matter of balance and how you use it.

With the current version of GAL , for mega busy sites, its best to keep the amount of entries to a minimum. 1000 entries could bring a site to its knees where as 20 entries wont make any difference.