The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2006, 11:07 AM
Black_Widow Black_Widow is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Question GARS and Thread Prefix integration

I'm very happy with gars article system but I need to integrate with thread prefix mod.

When I create a new thread in a GARS forum , vbulletin doesn't allow me to choose the right prefix.
So that I've tried to apply following changes to GARS_newthread template (as thread prefix mod instructions says)

1) Find this code:
<form action="newthread.php" method="post" name="vbform"<if condition="!is_browser('webtv')"> onsubmit="return vB_Editor['$editorid'].prepare_submit(this.subject.value, $vboptions[postminchars])"</if>>

Replace it with this code:
<form action="newthread.php" method="post" name="vbform"<if condition="!is_browser('webtv')"> onsubmit="return vB_Editor['$editorid'].prepare_submit(this.subject.value, $vboptions[postminchars]<if condition="$show['threadprefix'] AND ($vboptions['prefixrequired'] == 1 OR ($vboptions['prefixrequired'] == 2 AND $foruminfo['prefixrequired']))">, this.threadprefix.value</if>)"</if>>

1) Find this code:
<td class="smallfont" colspan="3">$vbphrase[title]:</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><input type="text" class="bginput" name="subject" value="$subject" size="40" maxlength="85" tabindex="1" /></td>

Replace it with this code:
<if condition="$show['threadprefix']">
<td class="smallfont">$vbphrase[threadprefix]:</td>
</if>
<td class="smallfont" colspan="<if condition="$show['threadprefix']">2<else />3</if>">$vbphrase[title]:</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<if condition="$show['threadprefix']">
<td>$threadprefixes&nbsp;</td>
</if>
<td><input type="text" class="bginput" name="subject" value="$subject" size="40" maxlength="85" tabindex="1" /></td>

But it doesn't seem to work. When i create a new article I cannot select the right thread prefix and nothing appear in forumdisplay.
Can you help me to solve this problem?
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2006, 06:34 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

er. Really tough to say. I know you would need to also adjust GARS_threadbit for it to display on forumdisplay, however Ive never used the hack.

With 2.0 you can do the same thing without any template editing (well, you may want to edit the threadbit depending on what you're wanting to accomplish).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2006, 07:39 PM
WAR's Avatar
WAR WAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

the big advantage to integrating these hacks would be that the prefixs are also sortable, filterable, and searchable through all of the standard vbulletin interfaces.

Integration between these two would answer a lot of the requests for things like seperate categories within a single article forum (articles anout three different sub-topics submitted to the same forum)

This is on my to-do list, right after figuring out how to cram an extra 4-6 hours into a day and an extra day or two into each week
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2006, 10:41 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Let me know if you get anywhere with it WAR, it sounds worth checking into. Ill look into when I get some time.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2006, 04:10 PM
bboy bboy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 20
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
Let me know if you get anywhere with it WAR, it sounds worth checking into. Ill look into when I get some time.
Hi WAR and TG, any update in this area? Thread prefixes would be a major plus for GARS. Hope we can see compatibility for it in the near future!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GARS / GALS integration? trana Geek Article and Review System 26 05-31-2009 06:40 PM
vB3.7 prefix and GARS daisukem Geek Article and Review System 1 07-04-2008 05:06 AM
Request: Thread prefix for GARS COBRAws Geek Article and Review System 3 05-02-2007 06:49 PM
anyone using GARS with thread prefix addon? benj Geek Article and Review System 6 11-21-2006 07:04 PM
Thread Prefix benj Geek Article and Review System 6 07-20-2006 12:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.