The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Auto-Linker

Geek Auto-Linker GAL automatically links keywords that users type in posts to advertising hover pop-ups.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:58 AM
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Question [unconfirmed]BBcode shows html in posts when GAL is activated

As soon as I enable GAL , all bbcodes are parsed wrongly. You can see the html markup behind the bbcode, instead of the normal text.

So when I make a text bold, I type [ b] text [ / b ] (without the xtra spaces of course). Without GAL you get to see this: text. With GAL enabled you see this: <b>text</b>.

That goes for all bbcode: the html code is shown.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2005, 08:37 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

im scratching my head on this one. It isnt happening here and im not 100% sure how it could happen at all. Do you have a URL I can check out as an example?

Can anyone else confirm?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:24 AM
Fleabag's Avatar
Fleabag Fleabag is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 167
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCB
As soon as I enable GAL , all bbcodes are parsed wrongly. You can see the html markup behind the bbcode, instead of the normal text.

So when I make a text bold, I type [ b] text [ / b ] (without the xtra spaces of course). Without GAL you get to see this: text. With GAL enabled you see this: <b>text</b>.

That goes for all bbcode: the html code is shown.
Isn't this a vB issue... As you're stating without GAL your BB code isn't being parsed properly too?

EDIT: Geek; why isn't GAL [above, and in this line] being autolinked?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:29 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I have the limit option to 1 so only 1 match per post is made. I found that with all my fun acronyms, damn near the entire post was one big popup
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:30 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I think hes saying that without it on, it appears fine.

Once again, I cant duplicate. see-> gal
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:46 PM
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

I have uninstalled it temporary, but will reinstall it again and post the link here so that you can see what the error (might) be.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2005, 04:47 PM
Fleabag's Avatar
Fleabag Fleabag is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 167
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fleabag
Isn't this a vB issue... As you're stating without GAL your BB code isn't being parsed properly too?

EDIT: Geek; why isn't GAL [above, and in this line] being autolinked?
Hehe makes sense... Silly me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:29 PM
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Well, I have re-installed it, edited the templates, flushed and rebuild everything and now it seems to work again

Last edited by TCB; 09-15-2005 at 06:55 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-15-2005, 06:50 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Have you made a URL a keyword? Anyway I can bob into your admincp for a better look?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-19-2005, 07:16 PM
KW802's Avatar
KW802 KW802 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Geek,

I just installed it on a site and had the same issue. I ended up removing it because I couldn't experiment too much with that site (it's a production site). I'll be trying it again on my 3.5 test site to see what happens.

Edit: OK, never mind... figured it out. It was a matter of interpretation as to what "replacement text" meant in the control panel. You may want to put a check in there to not take any action of that field is blank.
__________________
vBulletin Styles -- Cinvin, vBulletin hacks/add-ons, styles & more!
Sci-Fi Forums -- Cool Sci-Fi, a sci-fi & fantasy community

Free Fonts ~ Digital Photography Help

Last edited by KW802; 10-19-2005 at 07:31 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAL stopping posts from being displayed Noodles Geek Auto-Linker 0 11-12-2010 10:56 PM
GAL fails if the term is wrapped in BBCode minstrel Geek Auto-Linker 3 06-22-2009 04:34 PM
Alphabar shows only 1 result Nordinho Geek Article and Review System 7 09-25-2008 12:49 AM
Can't see the little icon that shows next to all GAL text in threads! themusicman Geek Auto-Linker 5 05-28-2007 12:43 PM
[fixed]Nothing shows up in product Description sketch42 GeekMart 21 08-27-2005 06:01 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.