The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:13 AM
Praetorian Praetorian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 45
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Is there a way or module to add additional fields?

I have some requirements I'd like to give readers to HAVE to add before putting in a article or review...is there an option to create such a field on the posting screen? Something like how vb has the creating user profiles fields... i cant find how to create new posting fields. Is it even there?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:50 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

In 2.0 there are custom fields that you can use. Otherwise youll need to make a module which is a bit more difficult.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2006, 06:55 PM
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

(since these are really similar topics)

Geek, I'm sure you're gonna crucify me for asking a moronic question like this, but...

To insert the custom fields into the article itself, do I have to create a module or am I overthinking this? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-15-2006, 06:59 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Nope, just create a custom field, edit the type you want to assign the custom field to, tick the custom field you want to assign it to and viola!

However to display it, you will either want a custom module, to edit your template or (the easy way), just add the custom fields module to your module set.

Hths
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:05 PM
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Hmmm....

Which way would you recommend if I want to use the 3 custom fields (they're URLs) to display the following:

MP3 Version
iTunes Enhanced
Shownotes

And then use the MP3 field to put the URL into the HTML code for a flash button player? Sorry for the barrage of questions !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:20 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Use the snipped URL custom field (create 3).
Edit the type that will use them and tick the boxes
Make sure your CustomFields module is registered
Edit your types module set and add the CustomFields module to it (where you want)
Edit the settings of the customfields manager
Tick the custom fields you want to display

Should work fine from there
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:33 PM
Bluestrike2 Bluestrike2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 32
GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

The Geek = My Savior!

I'm doing everything now, but one thing I just noticed is that you can't (at least, it won't for me) delete the custom fields once you make 'em. It says "gars deleted" but it still shows up so I decided to go back into the page, and it STILL shows up . I'll throw it into the depths of the bug tracker in a little bit .

Thanks though!

==Edit==
I made them text (BBCode Parse), and let 'er rip. You can see here. Now all I've got to do is clean everything up etc. and get that player on the showthread. Thanks again!

Last edited by Bluestrike2; 05-15-2006 at 07:56 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2006, 07:57 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

to remove it - just remove untick from the custom fields module and type.

You may also want to admincp->gars->tools->clean cache.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-17-2006, 07:36 AM
Praetorian Praetorian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 45
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

So there really isnt an easy all in one ability to do this until the 2.0 version huh. How stable is the Beta?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-17-2006, 08:44 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

The beta is pretty stable for a beta

You can easily add custom fields via modules - however it requires some PHP knowledge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could you add some help to the ACP fields? bob Geek Auto-Linker 3 05-28-2007 08:22 PM
Module to add a bigger image? convergent Geek Article and Review System 3 05-26-2007 08:21 PM
Does GARS retroactively add custom fields? trgreen Geek Article and Review System 3 05-08-2007 07:21 PM
Is it easy to add a module to the right hand side for an ad box? FRAiD Geek Article and Review System 3 11-15-2005 09:25 AM
module in add vendor? GoTTi GeekMart 1 08-26-2005 07:27 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.