The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2006, 11:49 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default Need help: How to improve ratings

Hey Guys,

I could use some feedback for the rating handler for GARS 2.0

Right now, I find the most annoying aspect is with member ratings. Many members skip over the review section to make their comment and as such, their review gets entered in at the default values. This can skew ratings and look odd.
Now, one way around it is to set it up so they have to rate it through the 'rate now' link (via the module). However it won't allow them to edit their rating.
I could set up another page so they can be asked to review it after they complete their message (kind of how the add a poll works) however that could prove to be a challenge with some of the limited functionality you get out of the hook system.
I could have a 'tick box' they would have to have ticked in order to 'accept' their rating.... but I think thats kind of counter-intuitive.

Anyone have any brainstorms about this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2006, 01:43 PM
WAR's Avatar
WAR WAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 34
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

not sure how well this works with the backend of the rating system (whether or not comments can exist without ratings) but a couple of things you might try:

Only worry about their valules if they haven't changed from the default.
If they haven't changed from the default:
  • Simply don't enter them
  • Pop up a window or something (or an intermediary page) with a reminder/notification that they forgot to change the values. <I would preer the first option over this one>
  • Set the values to match the author's <this assumes that the author's are "normal">
  • Set the Values to match the current average of the user ratings (or if no user ratings have been entered yet, use the author's, or just include the author's in the average)
  • redirect them to a "rate now" page if they hit submit without rating first <if you go with something like this, I would default the values to something like the average or the author's values>
  • Use a checkbox to let them opt out of rating (again, not sure if this is possible)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2006, 06:20 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Right now it checks against previous values to update... however there in lies the problem. If there is no previous version and the user doesnt place one, it gets a NADA.

Maybe the best option is to 'tick to rate'. That way users have to go out of their way to make the rating?

I do like the default to average though. I think ill impliment that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2006, 08:28 PM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
I do like the default to average though. I think ill impliment that.
That is going to dilute the ratings, it should only register a rating if a user specifically put something in.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2006, 08:18 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

SO a 'tick to post ratings' box seems the easiest and most straight forward then?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-20-2006, 10:56 AM
Mirzone's Avatar
Mirzone Mirzone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 60
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
SO a 'tick to post ratings' box seems the easiest and most straight forward then?
Sounds the best way forward to me. However it would be cool if you didnt have to post and like with v3arcade you intergrated it with AJAX so you can do it automatically when your viewing the article
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2006, 11:03 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I agree. The difficulty there is that the ratings can be an any amount from n/a to 99999 and also be fractional amounts which adds to the complexity of trying to do something like the cvarcade implimentation where its a fixed and predictable value (though I have to say I love how they did it).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:35 PM
Mirzone's Avatar
Mirzone Mirzone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Plymouth, UK
Posts: 60
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
I agree. The difficulty there is that the ratings can be an any amount from n/a to 99999 and also be fractional amounts which adds to the complexity of trying to do something like the cvarcade implimentation where its a fixed and predictable value (though I have to say I love how they did it).
Is it not possible to do it on one rating, say the default of 1-5 and not the othes?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:47 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

not really, then the most common complaint will be the restrictions
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2006, 04:28 AM
Webmist's Avatar
Webmist Webmist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 33
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Would it be possible to do a confirmation for ratings with the option to not rate at this time?

if value = blank (goto new page)
else - confirm ratings
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ratings gldtn Geek Article and Review System 14 01-16-2008 03:13 AM
ratings indie Geek Article and Review System 11 04-25-2007 10:02 PM
Star Ratings instead of Bar Ratings? rarara Geek Article and Review System 3 01-23-2007 02:03 PM
Submit the above ratings (box must be ticked to save ratings) attroll Geek Article and Review System 1 06-04-2006 09:28 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.