The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:31 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

?? does it still appear in your product manager?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-25-2006, 08:10 PM
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Geek,

I've done as you said:

have you tried adding $ad[html] to the GAB_item_image template, then edit your banner and put your text in the HTML box?

It didn't work, no text was produced under the banner .
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-25-2006, 10:14 PM
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

A few more things I noticed:
A) if someone opens a banner in a new tab, it won't load - it just loads the same page as you've clicked.
B) impression tracking isnt working, (yes i've setup a cron but when I press run cron now, it just prints a page saying GAB , and thats it).
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:25 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I wasnt sure if the ad[htm,l] would work. Ill see if I can enable it for you.

I cant duplicate your open in new tabl problem. Wors as expected here?

Impression tracking is working, however there appears to be a lisht bug with the cron. In the meantime, compress via the manage link and Ill have a fix tonight.

HTHs
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-26-2006, 12:09 PM
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

If you click open in new tab on firefox it simply goes to yoururl.com/#top rather than the destination URL - that may be a bug in javascript links overall and not just gab .
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-26-2006, 12:11 PM
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Also - is impression tracking accurate? It seems to me that it's reporting HUGELY inaccurate numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-26-2006, 07:11 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Crikey. Was I smashed this morning when I wrote that post? No, but it looks like it thanks to my handy keyboard.

Anyhooo. Test opening a new tab on one of these pages, it works fine on two sites I have tried.

As far as impression tracking, I wouldnt know why it wouldnt be right. Seems fine here?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-26-2006, 08:12 PM
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 28
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Ahhh, there seems to be something wrong my end. Probably the way I set it up. Banners are pointing to myurl.com/#top rather than to gab_redirect.php. Any ideas what I've done wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-26-2006, 08:13 PM
Fred Weiss's Avatar
Fred Weiss Fred Weiss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Worth, Florida
Posts: 12
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default A few questions

My site uses vbPortal and PhotoPost. How can I get GAB to look in the templates for those applications for the assigned $GAB_ads[x] entry? Or am I limited to just the vBulletin templates?

Where do I look to edit the Wrapper text from "Advertisement" to something else?

Clicking on an ad with a URL link opens that site in a new window. In instances where the link is to anywhere within my forum site, my preference would be to open the link in the same window. Is there some way to do this?

Why do I sometimes get two banners appearing in one space?
__________________
Fred Weiss
Allied Computer Graphics, Inc.
Signs101.com
Allcompu.com
ExpressClipart.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:06 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Nick0r, do you have gab_redirect.php in your settings for the redirect page?

Fred - You need to add the script names to your 'script' collection in GAB . To get the script name, open the physical file up and look for DEFINE('THIS_SCRIPT', 'showthread'); or something similar. Its generally right at the top of the page.

You want to look in GAB_wrapper_standard template or just edit the GAB_advertisement phrase.

Edit your GAB_item_image template to change the open in new window thing (remove the target="_blank")

Two banners is most likely because a billboard has more than 1 ad in it.

HTHs
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GAB RC3b Release Discussion The Geek Geek Advertising Banner System 15 03-12-2007 10:01 AM
GAB RC2b Release discussion The Geek Geek Advertising Banner System 0 02-23-2006 06:43 PM
GAB RC1 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Advertising Banner System 30 02-18-2006 05:54 PM
GARS RC2 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Article and Review System 56 12-13-2005 06:10 PM
GAB Beta 1 Release discussion The Geek Geek Advertising Banner System 16 10-25-2005 03:56 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.