The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:31 PM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default How to create a new module...

Hi,

Ive got the link directory installed and it works great!

Ive got a section on my forum called "Clubs + Groups" where local members can advertise their club or group.
Id like to use GARS in this section of the forum as it looks more professional, and I think the best option would be to use a modified "Links Directory" module.

Ive seen that I can copy the links directory to make a second, but where would I need to look to edit the text refering to links and chage it to clubs/groups. Im a bit worried about searching and doing anything without asking as im actually using the link directory as a link directory and dont want to alter the text on that one.

I really hope that makes sense!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:41 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

One suggestion is to make a new term set, make a new type using that new term set, and then assign to the forum the new type, which uses the link directory.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2008, 11:59 PM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Thanks Morgan,

Thats worked a treat!

One more question for the moment!

Where it says the following: "Title" and "Byline" - How would I go about editing those to say something else in my new copied module?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:11 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Those appear from vB phrases in the templates:
Code:
$vbphrase[title]
$vbphrase[GARS_byline]
Editing the phrases changes the value everywhere so you might try a template conditional based on forum ID or some such thing:
Code:
<if condition="$forumid == 1">Alt Title<else />$vbphrase[title]</if>
<if condition="$forumid == 1">Alt Byline<else />$vbphrase[GARS_byline]</if>
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:17 AM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Ah right,

Probably a stupid question, but whereabouts will I find them, will they be under "Languages and Phrases"? - If so, do I just add the conditional underneath?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:19 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Nope, you search the templates and make the change to the templates.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:22 AM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Superb! Found it!

Quote:
<input type="hidden" name="GARS_existing_image" value="$typevalues[header_image]" />
<if condition="$typeinfo['show_byline']">
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>$vbphrase[GARS_byline]</legend>
<div style="padding:$stylevar[formspacer]px">
<input type="text" class="bginput" name="GARS_byline" id="GARS_byline" value="$typevalues[byline]" size="50" maxlength="155" tabindex="1" />
</div>
</fieldset>
</if>
How would I go about adding the conditional in? Failing that, would you suggest an easier way? Would it be possible to create my own custom fields but still use the web address custom box to get the snapshot?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:29 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

You can turn off the byline under editing options of the type, but new threads need a title while replies do not, and the link directory is specifically geared to web address, so you might just edit the templates instead. Replace the phrase with the posted conditional, and see if it works.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:35 AM
powerful_rogue powerful_rogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
<input type="hidden" name="GARS_existing_image" value="$typevalues[header_image]" />
<if condition="$typeinfo['show_byline']">
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend><if condition="$forumid == 10">Club/Group Name<else />$vbphrase[GARS_byline]</if></legend>
<div style="padding:$stylevar[formspacer]px">
<input type="text" class="bginput" name="GARS_byline" id="GARS_byline" value="$typevalues[byline]" size="50" maxlength="155" tabindex="1" />
</div>
</fieldset>
</if>
Like the above Morgan?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:39 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Yep, give it a whirl and see if it works.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I create/edit a module for the top rated threads to be listed? Alfa1 Geek Article and Review System 1 12-22-2006 04:56 PM
How do I create different ratings for different forums. maam Geek Article and Review System 3 10-10-2006 02:45 AM
Where To Create Articles? majordude Geek Article and Review System 1 08-23-2006 08:40 PM
Is it possible to create a custom module where I could implement ads? Like eBay, etc FRAiD Geek Article and Review System 1 11-14-2005 08:58 AM
Create Modules Sets Based off an Existing Module Set gldtn Geek Article and Review System 2 10-29-2005 08:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.