The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2008, 11:16 AM
RootX RootX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default Problem updating module set

Hi there.

I 've made some change to the default module set i am using for the reviews, but the changes do not pass on the existing reviews. I try resyncing and clearing the cache but this didn't make any difference.

Mainly i just moved around the modules.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Edit: Any change to all modules is being ignored

Last edited by RootX; 10-04-2008 at 02:11 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2008, 03:55 PM
RootX RootX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Update: When the cache is enabled on the general settings i am experiencing this problem. My cache folder and subfolder is 0777 as described on the manual.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:10 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

What happens if you turn off caching, clear cache, make the changes you want, and then turn cache back on?
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2008, 07:42 PM
RootX RootX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Then the view is returning to what was before the changes. So it is actually cached somewhere. Is it safe to delete the contents of the cache folder? Will it recreate them?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2008, 05:11 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Recreation should occur, take backups first, but before deleting any files, when you move the module, for example to appear on the right hand side instead of the left hand side, does that occur? If so, what changes do not appear? If not, are you using any type of template caching add-on?
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2008, 09:05 PM
RootX RootX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Hi there.

If i move a module nothing is happening when the cache is enabled. I am not using any template caching add-on. With the cache disabled everything works fine.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2008, 02:27 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

What cache setting do you have on the particular module? Go to the module like you were going to move it and instead of moving it, click the module link and check the 'Cache Method' option.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:56 PM
RootX RootX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

I ll take one for example since its the same for all: Author Rating Cache Method: Don't cache.

I don't think it has to do with the modules. The page seems to be cached. Even if i remove all modules i still see the initial page (by initial i mean the page i 've set up the first time).

Update: reuploaded the cache folder. The module set seems to work when you are inside a thread, but the forumdisplay is not updating with the changes (featured reviews etc..) I had to disable cache again.

Last edited by RootX; 10-15-2008 at 11:18 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-16-2008, 12:03 AM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

If you have ssh access please use the following command

chmod -R /home/domain/public_html/geek/gars/cache

it will chmod 777 all the files inside cache folder and you should also make sure to use correct chown values for your cache files.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2008, 07:44 AM
RootX RootX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Hi Lizzard, as i say on my 2nd post my cache folder and subfolders is 0777 as described on the manual.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating GARS due to Securitytoken problem pipin Geek Article and Review System 5 07-16-2008 07:48 PM
Custom Newsletter and Custom Module Set Problem Dr. Bantham Geek Gazette 6 05-27-2007 02:03 PM
Where is the module width being set at? KW802 Geek Article and Review System 5 01-04-2007 10:49 AM
GARS 201 Default Module Set Forumdisplay jluerken Geek Article and Review System 4 10-12-2006 06:46 PM
Create Modules Sets Based off an Existing Module Set gldtn Geek Article and Review System 2 10-29-2005 09:29 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.