The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-12-2008, 11:32 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Hard to say from here, but at the end of the readme file is a troubleshooting section. Please check the items listed there, as that list contains everything that I could think of at the time as to why ads wouldn't show.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2008, 12:19 PM
teamspeed teamspeed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 14
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Question

I have uploaded 3 screenshots to show you what I mean, basically in the scripts section the pages table under the master table (link) has them ticked as default and when ticked they seem to appear on the default pages listed under the scripts table (not the ones i have added (faq and footer)). I need to make it appear on all pages.

I currently have in the template footer file: $GAB_ads[0] through to $GAB_ads[50]
so you would think that those would all show on every page since its in the footer but they don't, please see the links below. In the faq page they don't show but they do in the forum home, so i tried adding faq and footer to the scripts section in the admincp but it never helped.

http://www.teamspeed.com/gabadmincp.jpg
http://www.teamspeed.com/forumhome.jpg
http://www.teamspeed.com/faqpage.jpg
http://www.teamspeed.com/gabadmincp_masterscripts.jpg

I looked at the documentation you provided but it never helped unfortunately.

thanks.

Last edited by teamspeed; 03-12-2008 at 12:22 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:12 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

The script name is found inside the vB PHP files. In the vB faq.php file is the following line of code near the top of the file:
Code:
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'faq');
The script name is taken from that line of code, and faq is the script name, not FAQ, i.e., case matters, so change it to lowercase.

Using footer doesn't make any sense because there is no vB PHP file with the following, i.e., footer.php is not a vB file, so delete it:
Code:
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'footer');
To show ads in the footer, add the $GAB_ads[X] variable(s) to the vB footer template, where X is a number.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:17 PM
teamspeed teamspeed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 14
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

i did add $GAB_ads[X] where x is the number to the footer template but as i said it then doesn't show in all pages of the forum.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:33 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

After making the changes in post thirteen, the ads now show on the faq page, correct? If so, then you need to add more scripts like you did for the faq page, using the following as the value for the ID box:
Code:
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'whatever_is_here_goes_in_the_id_box');
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:42 PM
teamspeed teamspeed is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 14
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

In the end I just went through the ftp forum dir and just added every page to the script section and removed the .php extension which seemed to work.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-12-2008, 02:59 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

For the most part the value for THIS_SCRIPT matches with the filename, so that'll work for many files, but on occasion they might be different, and not every file in the /forum directory, ajax.php for example, needs to be added to scripts.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No banner vnjporg Geek Advertising Banner System 1 08-16-2009 05:43 AM
Where is possible visualize the banner? pchs Geek Advertising Banner System 3 12-02-2008 04:17 AM
E-mail size limitations brihan Geek Gazette 1 07-04-2007 09:24 AM
Date customfield (year) limitations goyo Geek Article and Review System 1 12-06-2006 08:43 AM
Problem with Banner MotMann Geek Advertising Banner System 10 11-28-2006 08:35 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.