The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2008, 11:04 AM
Freesteyelz's Avatar
Freesteyelz Freesteyelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Question Custom Fields Required Allowing No Values

I created several text and large textarea Custom Fields that all have "Required" checked. However, when I create a new thread and leave the custom fields blank I'm still able to submit the thread. There are no warnings that the fields are required either upon submitting or previewing the message.

Now if I'm editing the thread and leave any required Custom Fields blank I get the warning and I'm unable to submit the post. So the required check works on edits but not during new threads. Can you please confirm?
__________________
RelevantBuZZ - Sharing Content That Matters To Us
www.relevantbuzz.com - Launched 1.25.08
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2008, 05:07 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Please try it here (the required custom field is Testing FOOBAR). Also what type of required custom fields do you have set (text, date, etc)?
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2008, 02:43 AM
Freesteyelz's Avatar
Freesteyelz Freesteyelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Hmm...It worked on FOOBAR . It's text and I have a single text box (like FOOBAR ) and large text box. Thanks for looking into it, Morgan.
__________________
RelevantBuZZ - Sharing Content That Matters To Us
www.relevantbuzz.com - Launched 1.25.08
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2008, 03:26 AM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Maybe you have an old file lurking around somewhere. Try grabbing the GARS package, re-FTPing the PHP files, and re-importing the product-gars.xml file (do NOT uninstall, do allow overwrite). The Testing FOOBAR custom field has now been deactivated.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2008, 05:24 AM
Freesteyelz's Avatar
Freesteyelz Freesteyelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Unfortunately, no change. Editing it works, however, so I don't think it's a problem with the Custom Fields itself. I'll keep checking into it...
__________________
RelevantBuZZ - Sharing Content That Matters To Us
www.relevantbuzz.com - Launched 1.25.08
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2008, 01:38 AM
Freesteyelz's Avatar
Freesteyelz Freesteyelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

I think there's a compatibility issue with GARS and vB 3.7 Beta 4. This site uses 3.6.7 and on my testing site using 3.6.8 the Custom Fields required function works. On vB 3.7 Beta 4 it doesn't. I can't confirm if the other Betas work.

Any ideas where the problem lies?
__________________
RelevantBuZZ - Sharing Content That Matters To Us
www.relevantbuzz.com - Launched 1.25.08
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-03-2008, 04:07 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Stuck as reminder to check this out, but might not be until after vB 3.7 goes gold.

Update: have investigated this but cannot see a cause. If anyone else is having this issue, or not having this issue with vB 3.7, please post your experience.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-05-2008, 12:13 PM
Freesteyelz's Avatar
Freesteyelz Freesteyelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 65
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Cool. I'll check back periodically.
__________________
RelevantBuZZ - Sharing Content That Matters To Us
www.relevantbuzz.com - Launched 1.25.08
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2008, 09:04 AM
Namaless Namaless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 50
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default Custom Fields Require Error

Hi, I need support for this problem:

I have one groupid 11 (new usergroup) but the Gars not require fields.

With standard usergroup (Admin, Registered, ecc..) works correctly.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2008, 09:10 AM
Namaless Namaless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 50
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Not works for me.. Another people have problem with custom field require..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Users can post threads without entering the required custom fields! Milad Geek Article and Review System 5 06-21-2008 06:29 PM
Custom Fields Damir Geek Article and Review System 27 10-13-2006 05:38 PM
required fields * benj Geek Article and Review System 2 09-12-2006 03:07 PM
Custom field values not showing when editing SoloX Geek Article and Review System 7 07-24-2006 02:54 AM
Upload Custom Submission Avatars and custom fields question. Praetorian Geek Article and Review System 1 06-14-2006 02:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.