The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2008, 07:16 AM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default GARS / GALS integration?

Are there any methods to integrating GARS and GALS?

I'd like to have my GALS popups automatically created based on information I store in GARS. For example, I have a custom field in GARS that I would like to use for the text link, if the forum displays the text contained in the GARS custom field, it should display the link with the contents of another custom field. Basically it seems like a cron job that populates the GALS records with information from GARS.

Has anyone done anything like this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:27 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

GARS and GAL can be linked via the Usergroup Permissions section of the GARS ACP settings (screenshot). If you tick the Enter GALs box, users can enter keywords and a description in the 'Autolink options' fieldset when posting an artcle that links back to their article (example: test ).
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-16-2008, 03:47 AM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I finally got around to testing this.

When I edit a GARS post and put the value into the "link" section, I get a blank white page when I save my changes. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-16-2008, 05:19 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

When there is no error message, just a blank page, there is no clue for me to determine whether this is a GARS problem or a problem related to another modification. Here are some things to try if you receive another blank page:
  • Add a plugin to the gars_ignition_start hook with the following code and see if an error message shows on screen (how to add a plugin):
    Code:
    ini_set('display_errors', true);
  • Temporarily disable all modifications except GARS and see if the problem goes away.
  • Check your server error log for error messages.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2008, 03:42 PM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I added the plugin and received the following error:

Fatal error: Call to undefined method GAL_admin::add() in c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\forum\geek\ gal \includes\gal_cla ss_admin.php on line 409
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2008, 05:10 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

That looks to be from an old gal_class_admin.php file. Grab the latest GAL package and reFTP the PHP files, overwriting the ones on the server.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:48 PM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

OK, I had a problem but I was able to fix it.

How do I add a link for a phrase with spaces?

I.E. xxxxxx yyyyy

Thanks.

Last edited by trana; 08-19-2008 at 12:06 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:29 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Just add the phrase to the keywords box, separating words/phrases with a comma, no beginning or ending comma in the box.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-19-2008, 05:57 PM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Doesn't work. When I do that and save the article, the server times out:

Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\forum\geek\ gal \includes\gal_fun ctions_edit.php on line 200

I check in admincp and the GAL is indeed in there, meanwhile the server is doing an incredible amount of processing.

I check a thread 5 minutes later and see that every single space character in posts is linked to the GARS article.

Please let me know what I am doing wrong.

Thanks!

BTW: I put a comma at the end of the phrase to get it to take.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-20-2008, 09:23 PM
trana's Avatar
trana trana is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 225
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Any ideas what I might be doing wrong? I'd really like to get this to work.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GARS , GALS and GAB [new vB rc1] beduino Geek Article and Review System 4 03-26-2008 06:52 PM
Example of unusual integration of GARS and vBadvanced convergent Geek Article and Review System 5 06-03-2007 10:14 PM
GARS and GALS - how they work together? h2ojunkie Geek Article and Review System 1 11-23-2006 06:09 PM
some questions about gars and gals abramelin Geek Article and Review System 1 10-24-2006 12:26 PM
GARS and Thread Prefix integration Black_Widow Geek Article and Review System 4 09-30-2006 04:10 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.