The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2005, 08:05 PM
carvster carvster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default How to add banners to vBaGallery?

You have the tutorial for getting the banners to show on the vBaCMPS index page. Unfortunately, only the wrapper is showing after I followed those instructions.

Also, there isn't a similar option in vBaGallery. Any idea how to make the banners show there?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2005, 11:22 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

To make it show in vbaGAllery, you will need to add a new script called (whatever the gallery script page is called. Cant recall off the top of my head). Just make sure its set to 'use master'.

Ill have a play with the vbacmps setup. I think I just had to add a module or something. Ill get back to you in the morning with the answer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2005, 12:30 AM
carvster carvster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

I did add a script called adv_gallery but perhaps that's not it. I also just tried a script named "gallery" as that's the script referenced in my dynamic navbar along with adv_index. That didn't work.

I also added the GAB_ads to the cmps gallery page but there was no change.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2005, 03:04 PM
carvster carvster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
To make it show in vbaGAllery, you will need to add a new script called (whatever the gallery script page is called. Cant recall off the top of my head). Just make sure its set to 'use master'.

Ill have a play with the vbacmps setup. I think I just had to add a module or something. Ill get back to you in the morning with the answer
Just checking to see if you've made any progress with this? I still haven't gotten mine to show on the home page or gallery. Also, I haven't figured out how to add it to a module in CMPS.

Last edited by carvster; 11-18-2005 at 07:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2005, 01:20 AM
gldtn gldtn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 122
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carvster
You have the tutorial for getting the banners to show on the vBaCMPS index page. Unfortunately, only the wrapper is showing after I followed those instructions.

Also, there isn't a similar option in vBaGallery. Any idea how to make the banners show there?
The reason why only the wrapper is showing up is cause under GAB settings you have the Relative UL path to banners folder( geek/gab/images/ ? - note no leading slash!!!) set to the default geek/gab/images/ and it needs to be the full url http://www.yousite.com/forum_dir/geek/gab/images/. Make sure you follow the tutorial first though...

The problem with this is.. I can't get redirect to work properly on CMPS which is outside of forum_dir, so if I edit gab_redirect.php so the url points to the correct file on CMPS, the ones in the forum will stop functioning.. more hacking on the GAB script part is needed I guess.

In the gallery I haven't yet got it to work..
__________________
http://www.braziltourism.org/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:24 PM
carvster carvster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carvster
Just checking to see if you've made any progress with this? I still haven't gotten mine to show on the home page or gallery. Also, I haven't figured out how to add it to a module in CMPS.
**Bump**

Am still looking for a way to add a banner to a module and have a banner display on my gallery pages.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2005, 08:47 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I easily got banners on vba gallery by doing the following:

Ad a new script:

gallery_index

Set it to use master

Edit your cateories to make sure that the script is active.

Also, in your gab settings, I changed the Relative UL path to banners folder setting to an absolute value.

Let me know if this helps!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with banners! rutnhard Geek Advertising Banner System 3 08-09-2009 05:43 PM
How to add banners to Review page? mikhailtech Geek Article and Review System 7 02-23-2009 04:41 PM
No Banners Dagda Geek Advertising Banner System 6 02-23-2009 04:22 PM
Banners John3971 Geek Advertising Banner System 8 04-14-2008 05:29 PM
Need some help with Banners griffinzx10 Geek Advertising Banner System 11 11-15-2006 06:56 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.