The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:35 PM
mkdevo mkdevo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default Ads not behaving the way I want them to..

Perhaps you can help with this...

I currently have 3 different styles. I have 3 different text-based ad networks similar to adsense (kanoodle, targetpoint, and yahoo). For each of those networks, I have 3 sets of html code (1 for each style).

I have my GAB ads set up like this:

1 - Kanoodle Style 1
2 - Kanoodle Style 2
3 - Kanoodle Style 3
4 - Targetpoint Style 1
5 - Targetpoint Style 2.....

..etc, with the respective ad code in the HTML field of each one.

I originally placed $GAB_ads[1], $GAB_ads[2], and $GAB_ads[3] in the navbar template of their respective styles. That seemed to work fine, and my Kanoodle ads showed up, in their proper colors.

I then replaced those with $GAB_ads[4], $GAB_ads[5], and $GAB_ads[6], respectively, but it's still the Kanoodle ads that are showing up in there, NOT the TargetPoint ads.

Any idea what I could be doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:55 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Hey there, let me see if I have this right:

You have 5 Blocks (billboards) each pulling 1 ad.
In your Master script, you have something like the following:
$GAB_ads[0] = Block 1
$GAB_ads[1] = Block 2
{etc, all the way to 5}

In your templates you have $GAB_ads[0], $GAB_ads[1], $GAB_ads[2], etc... ??

not sure if the above is right. Can you confirm?

Now let me see if I can get what you are trying to do:

You have ads that are style dependant. In other words, you only want that ad to appear if the styleid = a specified number.
Are there more than 1 per page (i.e. your Kanoodle in the header and a TargetPoint in the footer)?

Hold on... I think I see where you are going with this....

Are you trying to set it up so that:
$GAB_ads[0] = Kanoodle ad for style#1
$GAB_ads[1] = Kanoodle ad for style#2
$GAB_ads[2] = Kanoodle ad for style#3
$GAB_ads[3] = Targetpoint ad for style #1
$GAB_ads[4] = Targetpoint ad for style #2
$GAB_ads[5] = Targetpoint ad for style #3
{etc...}

If the above is correct, I think Ill need a better way of accomplishing what you are trying to do. What is different in the HTML code between Kanoodle ad 1-3? Is the html totally different?

Sorry for the babbling... Im just trying to fully understand the problem so I can come up with a good solution for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2006, 02:19 PM
mkdevo mkdevo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7
GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

I think the whole 'block' thing is throwing me off. I did not have multiple blocks set up, only multiple banners.

The differences in the HTML codes for each ad are minor - they basically just tell the differences in the colors (which correspond to the different styles).

Ultimately, what I would like to have is this (let me know if this is possible):

Have 1 block below my navbar on all pages, which randomly displays either a Kanoodle Ad, a Targetpoint Ad, OR a Yahoo Ad, for that style.

If that isn't possible, then I'd like to just be able to do what you're describing in the last part of your message..

Here is a sample showing the differences between 2 of the Kanoodle Ads, and 2 of the Targetpoint Ads:

Kanoodle1:
Code:
<center><SCRIPT language="JavaScript1.1" type="text/javascript" src="http://context5.kanoodle.com/cgi-bin/ctpub_adserv.cgi?id=84900472&site_id=84900479&format=728x90&bdcl=869bbf&bgcl=e1e4f2&tlcl=000000&ttcl=333333&ulcl=666666"></SCRIPT></center>
Kanoodle2:
Code:
<center><SCRIPT language="JavaScript1.1" type="text/javascript" src="http://context5.kanoodle.com/cgi-bin/ctpub_adserv.cgi?id=84900472&site_id=84900479&format=728x90&bdcl=006600&bgcl=EEF7EF&tlcl=043105&ttcl=043105&ulcl=043105"></SCRIPT></center>
Targetpoint1:
Code:
<center> <script type="text/javascript">
<!--
customer_id = '234378';
cid = 1800;
b_type = 1;
b_adults = 1;
b_skip = "";
b_width = 728;
b_height = 90;
b_links = 3;
b_orientation = 2;
b_preset = "2!1!%23e0e0f6$$2!2!0$$2!3!%233e5c92$$2!4!1$$3!1!10$$3!2!1$$3!4!13$$3!5!1$$4!1!2$$4!2!1$$4!4!13$$5!1!4$$5!2!1$$5!4!10$$6!3!%233e5c92$$6!4!7$$6!5!http%3A//www.thebreakfast.info/forum/images/gradients/gradient_tcat.gif$$6!6!15$$6!7!2$$7!1!8$$7!4!10$$7!5!0$$7!7!Sponsored%26nbsp%3BLinks%26nbsp%3B$$8!1!%233e5c92$$";
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://srs.targetpoint.com/resources/inc/banner.js"></script>
 </center>
Targetpoint2:
Code:
<center><script type="text/javascript">
<!--
customer_id = '234378';
cid = 1800;
b_type = 1;
b_adults = 1;
b_skip = "";
b_width = 728;
b_height = 90;
b_links = 3;
b_orientation = 2;
b_preset = "2!1!%23E0EEE1$$2!2!0$$2!3!19$$2!4!1$$3!1!18$$3!2!1$$3!4!13$$3!5!1$$4!1!2$$4!2!1$$4!4!13$$5!1!4$$5!2!1$$5!4!10$$6!3!19$$6!4!19$$6!6!14$$6!7!2$$7!1!8$$7!4!10$$7!5!0$$7!7!Sponsored%26nbsp%3BLinks%26nbsp%3B$$8!1!19$$";
//-->
</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://srs.targetpoint.com/resources/inc/banner.js"></script></center>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2006, 11:06 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Ok, I think I know how to achieve this better for what you are after. I think ill add an option for an ad to be able to specify a template to use. Then you can simply put your code per style in a template and depending on the styleid, the right one would be chosen. Ill see if I can roll this into the next update.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyway to have more then 50 banner ads ? teamspeed Geek Advertising Banner System 6 10-07-2008 05:08 AM
Text ads Bridges Geek Advertising Banner System 4 05-22-2007 09:18 PM
No ads appearing carvster Geek Advertising Banner System 3 05-14-2006 09:43 AM
Ads on Photopost? Crow Geek Advertising Banner System 9 02-17-2006 10:00 PM
Different ads for different usergroups? Seeker Geek Advertising Banner System 4 11-22-2005 09:37 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.