The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:47 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Arrow Small HTML bug on review page

Hi Geek,

I moved some HTML Threads to my Review Section and found a small bug.
I don't know if it is really one but if not I think its a design issue.

On the GARS1.jpg you can see how the article looks on the preview page.
On GARS2.jpg you can see the article how it should be.

As you can see on GARS1.jpg the images are missing but I want to have them in the preview cause the raw html code looks strange.
Is there a way to change this?

Kind regards
jluerken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gars1.jpg (34.5 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg gars2.jpg (58.6 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:55 AM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

It happens because of bbcode parse in synopsis. If you have html in that thread the quick solution is you can add synopsis manually without html by editing the thread
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:31 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Yes that is a solution for one thread only but I moved a lot of threads into the category and don't want to change them one by one.

I think its a question how GARS handles the synopsis stuff.

If there is nothing entered it should be able to display bbcode and html code or?
Maybe TheGeek as an idea how this can be changed for one of the next versions.
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:47 AM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

But there is another case , everybody wants to use this feature as a different way. As if you check with the code base most of the hacks have the same problem. For example vbadvanced cmps is killing me beucase of the same problem. It is same with gars also because this bbcode's are even messing with xhtml compliant on pages. I wish there is a solution Geek may find but i am not hopefull in this.

Last edited by Lizard King; 01-25-2006 at 08:53 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:29 AM
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 143
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Maybe an option field would be good where the admin can define what the synopsis is, html or bbcode.
__________________
Ciao jluerken
EsportBoard
http://www.esportboard.de

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2006, 12:04 PM
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 555
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

That wont solve the problem. The problem is every html code can show different lenght. This is the problem. If you cut the table from half everything will be messed up even your boards style.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2006, 03:08 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

yea, this is a tough one.

I had enough of a difficult time to auto-snip and parse bbcode in the article let alone all html as well. therefore I removed the function to prevent odd occurences of broken tags. In essence I used vBs thread preview function to display auto-synopsis's while still enabling those that specify the synopsis to use bbcode.
HTML would prove VERY difficult to ensure there were no broken tags that wouldnt destroy your layout.

In a nutshell, if you want a formatted synopsis, or you use html in your articles, the only real option is to use the synopsis box (which I can understand is a pain for you in this instance )

Hope you understand.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BUG: HTML ads not tracking clicks KenDude Geek Advertising Banner System 3 05-08-2007 07:08 PM
Small bug but needed to be corrected in 5.x Lizard King Geek Auto-Linker 2 11-08-2006 08:21 AM
gtest review page iDaemon Reviews 0 10-05-2006 01:50 PM
RC2 small bug Seeker Geek Advertising Banner System 3 02-23-2006 06:48 AM
Perhaps a small bug RC1 Seeker Geek Advertising Banner System 1 02-13-2006 04:53 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.