The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Auto-Linker

Geek Auto-Linker GAL automatically links keywords that users type in posts to advertising hover pop-ups.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2009, 08:18 PM
fxrescbe fxrescbe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default How to use & in keywords

I want to link a text that contains an &

When I enter it in the field, it gets stripped away.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-10-2009, 06:02 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Word characters (\w), space (\s), comma (,), apostrophe ('), and dash (-) are currently allowed. Other characters get stripped, but if you want to allow other characters, you'd need to edit the strip_text function, appearing in both the gal_class_core.php and gal_class_dictionary.php files. Look for all instances of [^\w\s,\'\-] and add whatever you want to the character class, making sure to not allow unsafe characters. [^\w\s,&;\'\-] might do with either word1&word2 or word1&word2 as the keyword, but it'd need a test .
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2009, 10:59 PM
JustaQuestion JustaQuestion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

I tried both, word1&word2 and word1&word2, after changing the two instances of [^\w\s,\'\-] into [^\w\s,&;\'\-] in both .php files, but it doesn't seem to work. I even tried to rebuild the post cache, just in case, but no luck. Anything else we could try?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2009, 03:42 PM
Morgan's Avatar
Morgan Morgan is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,255
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Not sure, others were able to get this to work so the only thing I can suggest is to try again. IIRC people needed to use word1&word2 as the keyword because vB amps the &s unless HTML is allowed in posts, which it shouldn't be due to security reasons.
__________________
Please use the forums for support, feature requests, and similar such things. Support does not include custom code, custom template edits, or third-party modifications. PMs and emails to me should be for private information only, such as login information. If you PM or email me a support question, chances are good that I'll ignore it. Thanks.
While the work or play is on, it is a lot of fun if while you are doing one you don't constantly feel that you ought to be doing the other. -- Franklin Pierce Adams
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2009, 12:53 PM
JustaQuestion JustaQuestion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Hmm, I finally got it going by specifying as a keyword both of the following: Word1 & Word2,Word1 & Word2 (with just one or the other I had no luck).

Thanks for telling me to try again!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"&" in keywords? john2k Geek Auto-Linker 1 11-03-2009 04:49 PM
Periods in keywords? john2k Geek Auto-Linker 1 11-03-2009 04:48 PM
HTML special characters - $ and " being parsed to & and " rtysmith Geek Auto-Linker 8 01-29-2008 08:26 PM
Keywords in articles Bytecon Geek Article and Review System 1 03-08-2006 09:56 AM
Keywords & search Lizard King Geek Article and Review System 2 11-22-2005 04:09 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.