The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Advertising Banner System

Geek Advertising Banner System GAB is a highly configurable banner management system for vBulletin.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2007, 07:46 PM
lars lars is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default Feature request

One of our clients supplied us with a Flash banner to run. She was a bit perturbed that GAB was using automatically setting the background colour parameter to #ffffff, and was miffed when I asked him to set a background layer in him SWF file to deal with the problem.

Could you please add a field in an upcoming release so we can set the background parameter for each banner ?

<object yada-yada-yada>
<param name="bgcolor" value="#some-colour-value" />
</object>

Thanks.

lars
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2007, 02:26 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

You can create a new template with that in it - or simply alter your GAB_item_flash template as you see fit.

HTHs!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2007, 04:08 AM
lars lars is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
You can create a new template with that in it - or simply alter your GAB_item_flash template as you see fit.

HTHs!
Yeah, I figured that out after I posted the request (standard operating procedure for me. ) and removed the background colour params from the template.

FYI it turns out that the modification was pointless because, according to the Flash programmer who looked into why my template mod didn't work, the default background parameter used in the .SWF file doesn't work right in IE6 anyway.

...lars
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2007, 04:36 PM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I have run into this before and it is more to do with the (IIRC) transparency parameter (or something like that). I put that in as the most popular place for banners is under the navbar. In ie (at least 6.x) flash images always sit OVER the drop down menus unless you use this setting - however when you use the parameter, the flash files has to have a background in it or you wont see it.

Right PIA thanks to MS =)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
feature request mambomouth Geek Article and Review System 1 10-03-2008 01:08 AM
Feature request Noodles Geek Auto-Linker 1 06-26-2007 07:16 AM
Feature Request GeekMart v1.1 Mythotical GeekMart 13 05-25-2007 03:11 AM
Possible feature request? This would be huge! Silver740 Geek Advertising Banner System 1 04-29-2007 07:10 PM
Feature request tracker wanted Damir Geek Article and Review System 0 07-12-2006 05:41 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.