The vB Geek

Go Back   The vB Geek > vB Geek Products > Geek Article and Review System

Geek Article and Review System GARS is the mega popular system for turning forums into articles, tutorials, or even reviews.

Advertisement
This is an HTML example. Isn't it just wonderful?!?!
  Learn how to remove ads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:52 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default GARS 2.0 RC3 Release Discussion

PLEASE NOTE... This post contains IMPORTANT upgrade instructions. Please read through my rambling to prevent problems!

I am pleased to announce that I am on Holiday, however I have managed to crank out RC3. Yes, Im a freak - my family hates me, but you may (just may) love me for it.

RC3 marks the last key release befor gold. Basically I only need to phrase and squash any bugs that may have come up with the most recent changes. All features are frozen except for an import/export system I am working on to make installing modules and such easier.

Please note that this is pre-release software and should only be used in test environaments. There is little read me material and a bunch of phrasing that needs to be done (though that is mostly in the admincp).

Here is a re-cap of changes between RC2b and RC3:
I have fixed some bugs with the alpha bar.
Made several template changes to work with vb3.6
Added the ability to default sort forums based on author or member ratings (NOTE that for users of vb3.5x - you MUST read below on how to impliment).
Added ability to substitute newthread and editthread templates
Fixed bugs

To upgrade from RC2b, simply replace all your old files with those found in the RC3 package. You will need to re-import your product.xml found in the new package and revert your templates (too many to list!).

Please note vb3.5x users

When I updated this site, I discovered a small 'bug' in 3.5x series that prevents sorting by ratings. I say bug in quotes as it isnt so much a bug with vb as it is with using 1 particular hook with vb. This has been changed in vb3.6. If you are using 3.5x you MUST make a small file change in order for it to work.

Edit forumdisplay and change:
PHP Code:
 $getthreadids $db->query_read("
  SELECT " 
iif($sortfield == 'voteavg'$votequery) . " threadid 
to

PHP Code:
 $getthreadids $db->query_read("
  SELECT " 
iif($sortfield == 'voteavg'$votequery) . " thread.threadid 
Its a minor change, but if you dont do it, you're users will get errors sorting by rating with vb3.5x

Please use this thread to discuss the release and the bug tracker or troubleshooting forum for tracking bugs or troubleshooting issues.

nJoy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:04 PM
waltercat waltercat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 239
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

Sweet! Sort by ratings! Thanks Geek, that is a nice surprise.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2006, 01:54 PM
Damir's Avatar
Damir Damir is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 103
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder 
Default

Great thanks Geek
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:09 PM
Ramses Ramses is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 265
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Anybody installed it succesful? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-08-2006, 07:57 PM
Blackbeard Blackbeard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 48
Geek Article and Review System License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder 
Default

running 3.6, copied over everything, installed product, had to change setting of types to show descriptions but alls working fine
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:46 AM
joeychgo joeychgo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Installed just fine.....
__________________
vBulletin FAQ - Tutorials and discussion forum For vBulletin Forum Administrators
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2006, 07:56 AM
absolutepunk absolutepunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Anyone having any problems with the custom fields saving when you edit an article? The image upload doesn't seem to be working either.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:20 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

Have you reverted your templates?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2006, 08:35 AM
absolutepunk absolutepunk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
Geek Article and Review System License Holder 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Geek
Have you reverted your templates?
Yep. Templates are reverted, and I turned off all the cache stuff for the moment as well. It's being really weird. If you want to play with my pages - lemme know, I'll give you the password and everything.

Image upload works fine on a "new" review - just doesn't work when trying to edit an old one that was already in my database. Or if I try and edit a review it asks me to upload an image again - instead of saving the old one.

Last edited by absolutepunk; 08-09-2006 at 08:46 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-09-2006, 09:50 AM
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6,717
Geek Article and Review System License Holder GeekMart License Holder Geek Auto-Linker Pro License Holder Geek Advertising Banner License Holder Geek Gazette License Holder 
Default

I just squished a small bug that was a result of taking out the ajax quick editor.

The new package is RC3b if you have already upgraded to RC3, then you only need to replace your geek/gars/includes/gars_class_core.php file with the latest.

This will fix custom fields not saving.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GARS 2.1.2 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Article and Review System 36 12-20-2006 02:16 PM
GARS 2.1.1 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Article and Review System 23 12-13-2006 11:15 AM
GARS 2.1.0 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Article and Review System 32 12-12-2006 08:32 AM
GAB RC3 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Advertising Banner System 8 06-01-2006 05:09 PM
GARS RC3 Release Discussion The Geek Geek Article and Review System 37 01-05-2006 05:51 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.