The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Geek Article and Review System (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Compatibility issues with ecRelease and Adv. Editing options hacks (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=866)

The Geek 01-06-2006 09:42 PM

Compatibility issues with ecRelease and Adv. Editing options hacks
 
For some freaky reason, there are compatibility issues running GARS and 2 hacks over at vb.org

They are: Adv. Editing Options for Mods and Admins
and: ecRelease

I would highly recommend disabling them until I can figure out whats going on.

The Geek 01-07-2006 07:22 PM

I have notified the author of ecRelease as to the cause. Hopefully he can resolve it soon.

Adv. Editing is going to be more difficult to track down as there is so much plugin code to trawl through.

pashnit 01-07-2006 09:45 PM

I'm running GARS and adv edit with no problems that I am aware of. What's the problem?

The Geek 01-07-2006 11:41 PM

a user reported oddities with the post as feature. Maybe it was something else though?!?

kall 01-08-2006 12:50 AM

and try editing a post in a GARS-enabled forum .. without the extra stuff in the fields, they are reset to 1 1 1970 ets.

pashnit 01-09-2006 03:18 PM

I do much editing before, after, and while an article is being released often with most fields being empty. See I have two article forums, one for releases and one visible only for authors to take their time writing. Never had an issue.

Adv editing doesn't show up in my GARS enabled forums.

Dennis B 02-15-2006 02:41 PM

Just downloaded GARS, it's working fine and all, but I have the AEO hack enabled and I can't submit a new article, I always get the error message

You did not specify a username for your post...

Any ideas?

Dennis B 02-15-2006 03:19 PM

I have disabled AEO and GARS now works fine.
Geek, can you take a look into this please?
Thanks,

The Geek 02-15-2006 11:06 PM

Ill have to download and look into that hack as Im not sure why its wiggin it out

Torqued 03-28-2006 04:23 PM

Any update on this issue? I'd really like to use the AEO mod. :(

The Geek 03-28-2006 09:54 PM

not really. I havent had time to dissect his code yet :(

Paul M 03-31-2006 07:13 AM

Hmm, this is a bugger, I installed GARS on test and it's falling out with AEO - "You did not specify a username for your post" - time to have a look why.

Ramses 03-31-2006 08:53 AM

Nice to see a advanced coder supporting GARS now. :)

Paul M 03-31-2006 08:59 AM

Edit: See post #16 below for fix to AEO.

The Geek 03-31-2006 05:16 PM

hehehe.

Thanks Paul, several have been asking about this and I havent had time to look at the AOE hack yet.

Paul M 04-01-2006 12:35 PM

Fix to modify the AEO hack itself - I've had to do this because it breaks a hack of mine as well :rolleyes:

In the AEO 'init_startup' hook ;

Find ;

PHP Code:

    global $vbulletin

Add below it ;

PHP Code:

    // Bypass Options // 
    // By Paul M - Because some mods choke on AEO // 
    
$bypass_aeo false
    if (
THIS_SCRIPT == 'report'$bypass_aeo true
    if (
is_object($vbulletin->gars)) $bypass_aeo true

    if (
$bypass_aeo) { 
        
$vbulletin->userinfo['editlevel'] = EDITLEVEL_AUTHOR
        return 
EDITLEVEL_AUTHOR
    } 
    
// End of bypass options // 


Erik 07-01-2006 10:26 PM

I was having this problem and this worked nicely, thanks Paul M :)

I had a little problem with the Thread Prefix hack complaining, but it can be fixed by simply setting Thread Prefix settings to 'Use Forum Based Setting' and turning 'Thread Prefix Required in this Forum' to no.

SGA 07-23-2006 06:23 PM

I solved this by using the following workaround at vb.org given by Paul if I remember right:

In the AEO 'init_startup' hook ;

Find ;

Code:

global $vbulletin;
Add below it ;

Code:

// Bypass Options //
    // By Paul M - Because some mods choke on AEO //
    $bypass_aeo = false;
    if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'report') $bypass_aeo = true;
    if (is_object($vbulletin->gars)) $bypass_aeo = true;
 
    if ($bypass_aeo) {
        $vbulletin->userinfo['editlevel'] = EDITLEVEL_AUTHOR;
        return EDITLEVEL_AUTHOR;
    }
    // End of bypass options //

I've also added a 'cache_templates' hook ;

Code:

$globaltemplates[] = 'adv_editform';

benj 08-25-2006 08:11 PM

mr samgeek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=1979 updated)

The Geek 08-25-2006 09:52 PM

? Is this in the worng thread ?

Lionel 09-06-2006 02:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Erik

I had a little problem with the Thread Prefix hack complaining, but it can be fixed by simply setting Thread Prefix settings to 'Use Forum Based Setting' and turning 'Thread Prefix Required in this Forum' to no.

hum, what is the problem with thread prefix exactly? I am using it with all gars forums.

ccunnin71 05-18-2007 02:03 PM

Thank you for the AOE fix! I hadn't even gotten around to asking for help yet. I had to disable it for awhile until I saw this thread.

za4a tuner 10-09-2008 10:19 PM

Paul's plug-in does work, but if you use it,
there will be a pass throug for AEO @ all GARS-forums, you can't use AEO with GARS.


I did it another way:
in template "GARS_editpost" search for:
Code:

<form name="vbform" action="editpost.php" enctype="multipart/form-data" method="post"<if condition="!is_browser('webtv')"> onsubmit="return vB_Editor['$editorid'].prepare_submit(0, $vboptions[postminchars])"</if>>
and add under it this code:
Code:

$adv_editform
in template "GARS_newthread" search for:
Code:

<form action="newthread.php<if condition="$show['vb36']">?do=postthread&amp;f=$forumid</if>" method="post" enctype="multipart/form-data" name="vbform"<if condition="!is_browser('webtv')"> onsubmit="return vB_Editor['$editorid'].prepare_submit(this.subject.value, $vboptions[postminchars])"</if>>
and add under it this code:
Code:

$adv_editform
If you did the changes @ the Plug-In (AEO-fix by Paul M), undo the changes ;)


kr Chris

sceptor 11-12-2008 03:59 PM

before purchasing I was wondering if gars and the EC release has been fixed?

Morgan 11-14-2008 04:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sceptor (Post 26861)
before purchasing I was wondering if gars and the EC release has been fixed?

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Geek (Post 4689)
I have notified the author of ecRelease as to the cause. Hopefully he can resolve it soon. ...

Not familiar with that modification, but it looks like The Geek sent a message to the ecRelease author, so maybe the ecRelease author would know the answer to your question, but judging from the last release date for that modification, my guess is no.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.