The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Announcements (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Yo, Banner Me O' Plenty! (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=3905)

Morgan 02-04-2008 01:00 AM

Yo, Banner Me O' Plenty!
 
Geek Advertising Banner System

Features

This system is designed to manage static banners, flash banners, rotating image banners, text ads (i.e., Google Adsense), and even butter your freaking toast when you feel like it. Okay, not butter your toast, but there is a detailed readme file that comes with the package.
GAB Key Features
  • Track ad impressions and clickthroughs
  • Set start and expiration dates for ads
  • Show ads to specific usergroups
  • Allow specific usergroups to turn off ads
  • Use image, Flash, text/HTML (e.g., Google Adsense)
Issues

Yeah, yeah, not 100% phrased. Also, new installs of old versions required the following action (because for some odd reason, not doing so could cause an error): After a fresh installation, make sure you save your MASTER script (AdminCP -> GAB Manager -> Scripts -> MASTER -> Save). Nothing was obvious as to the cause of that problem, but if you happen to experience it, save your MASTER script and report the problem.

Installation
  • Copy the files included with this package into their corresponding folders on your server, overwriting existing files.
  • Import the product-gab.xml file via the ACP (AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product).
  • Make sure to CHMOD the /geek/gab/images directory so that it has 777 permissions so that you are able to upload banners.

Tigratrus 02-04-2008 01:42 AM

Yea!
::scampers off to download new version for testbed::

TheComputerGuy 02-04-2008 01:49 AM

this is neato.

Tigratrus 02-04-2008 01:59 AM

Oh boy. *Thank you* for the readme! That's sooooo much better... And if I read it right you fixed our problem with being able to simply add members to an "Advertising free group" and have the adds turn off automatically. Yay! I don't have to do any profile field slight of hand!

Morgan, you're our hero... Assuming all works out on our test server, this will totally be the answer to a project Susan's tasked me with that I've been dreading. Thanks!

James and Susan

RaceJunkie 02-04-2008 02:15 AM

Is there anywhere that this can be seen in use yet?

Morgan 02-04-2008 02:38 AM

Thanks for the thanks. :D

@Tigratrus: Swuueeeeet that you read the readme. Ha ha, I spent the majority of today re/writing the dang thing, and yes, if you set no profile field, no ads show to those usergroups, assuming said persons are not in 'additional usergroup' that cannot turn off ads. Same goes for those usergroups that view ads; if persons are in a usergroup that cannot view ads, but are in an 'additional usergroup' that can view ads, said persons see ads. Think of it this way: tick marks rule across all usergroups.

@RaceJunkie: GAB is currently running below the navbar on this site, but you have 'Adverts?' set to 'Naaaaa' here, so you cannot see them.

RaceJunkie 02-04-2008 02:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morgan (Post 22908)
@RaceJunkie: GAB is currently running below the navbar on this site, but you have 'Adverts?' set to 'Naaaaa' here, so you cannot see them.

Heheh Thanks, did not know that.

Will there be any examples of it with banners inserted into threads and such, like every X amount of posts a banner shows?

tester 02-04-2008 03:15 AM

Which versions of vbulletin does this work with?
EDIT: Oops. I see it works with 3.6.x and 3.7.x.

RaceJunkie 02-04-2008 03:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tester (Post 22918)
Which versions of vbulletin does this work with?
EDIT: Oops. I see it works with 3.6.x and 3.7.x.


GAB requires vBulletin 3.6.x or vBulletin 3.7.x.

MichelleB 02-04-2008 05:40 AM

Does it also handle people signing up to advertise? Can it display ads according to how many impressions they bought?

reteep 02-04-2008 06:08 AM

:(

Quote:

Owned license with 1 year of free updates
Looks like the license expired without ever having an update :o

KenDude 02-04-2008 03:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reteep (Post 22921)
:(



Looks like the license expired without ever having an update :o

I have to agree with this as well, I purchased a license and it expired a couple of months ago and there was never an update during that timeframe so I'm assuming I have to buy the whole product all over again or is there an upgrade path?

Additionally is there a "What's New" listing so as to compare with the version I am currently using (which is working well atm but is missing a few things of course).

KenDude 02-04-2008 03:20 PM

BTW I just went ahead and paid the upgrade price, but I also read the readme doc and there were not specific instructions for upgrading an existing installation, will everything go ok if I just do the install as listed in the readme file for a regular install? I don't want to lose all my current GAB settings.

tekguru 02-04-2008 05:17 PM

Looks good - does the Mod also support side column tables and advert rotation?

MotMann 02-04-2008 05:49 PM

I dont found the Dowload Link....

EDIT: Found that. But my Licenzcode will be running out. You can give us a little bit more time, because whe waiting for a long time for a new Version... you know, that Geek havent time the last 7 months to fix some bugs ;)

Morgan 02-05-2008 02:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RaceJunkie (Post 22911)
Heheh Thanks, did not know that.

Will there be any examples of it with banners inserted into threads and such, like every X amount of posts a banner shows?

This feature is now set in a few select locations on this site, including this thread, where the same banner will appear every third post, though you could set things so a random banner appears every X posts.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MichelleB (Post 22920)
Does it also handle people signing up to advertise? Can it display ads according to how many impressions they bought?

No, there is no area for people to sign up to advertise, though you can limit the display of banners to a start/end date or to the number of impressions or clickthroughs. A vB cron job handles the expiry for you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KenDude (Post 22931)
I have to agree with this as well, I purchased a license and it expired a couple of months ago and there was never an update during that timeframe so I'm assuming I have to buy the whole product all over again or is there an upgrade path?

Additionally is there a "What's New" listing so as to compare with the version I am currently using (which is working well atm but is missing a few things of course).

There is the option to renew your license instead of purchasing a new license. Depending on what old version you are/were using, settings may or may not need to be reset. Upgrading from 1.0 RC 2 or newer should not pose an issue with regard to settings. The main thing that is new in stable version 2, as compared to the old RC4 version, is that a number of bugs were fixed. You can also set 'Can Administer GAB' permissions, track HTML ads under limited situations, have width/height taken into account for rotating images, make use of $GAB_ads in the archive, and weight ad types in billboards.

Quote:

Originally Posted by KenDude (Post 22932)
BTW I just went ahead and paid the upgrade price, but I also read the readme doc and there were not specific instructions for upgrading an existing installation, will everything go ok if I just do the install as listed in the readme file for a regular install? I don't want to lose all my current GAB settings.

Upgrading GAB is the same as installing GAB: import the product file via the ACP, FTP the GAB files to the server, and ensure that the GAB images directory has 777 permissions. For settings please see the previous paragraph.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tekguru (Post 22941)
Looks good - does the Mod also support side column tables and advert rotation?

If you have a side column, and want to place an ad or three in it, you can do that, but GAB doesn't make side columns for you. Image banners can be rotated. There is currently an example on this site where two banners, one for GARS and the other for GAL, rotate between each other every few seconds, but you need to set 'Adverts?' to 'Yup' in your profile to see it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MotMann (Post 22943)
I dont found the Dowload Link....

EDIT: Found that. But my Licenzcode will be running out. You can give us a little bit more time, because whe waiting for a long time for a new Version... you know, that Geek havent time the last 7 months to fix some bugs ;)

As to expired licenses, I do understand that license holders anticipated further releases by The Geek and are disappointed that they did not materialize. As a courtesy, I have offered The Geek's most popular script, GARS, v.2.1.8m, sans payment to any license holder who was able to download v.2.1.8c. However, updating and supporting these scripts are not small tasks, and I cannot extend that courtesy to the other scripts and still spend the time and effort required to update and support these scripts. I would hope that most customers understand that there are limits to what I can provide gratis, as there is only so much that I can do to 'make up' for unfulfilled expectations, especially ones that preceded my tenure, and still keep this site viable.

miyukichii 02-06-2008 12:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morgan (Post 22897)
Geek Advertising Banner System

Features

This system is designed to manage static banners, flash banners, rotating image banners, text ads (i.e., Google Adsense), and even butter your freaking toast when you feel like it. Okay, not butter your toast, but there is a detailed readme file that comes with the package.
GAB Key Features
  • Track ad impressions and clickthroughs
  • Set start and expiration dates for ads
  • Show ads to specific usergroups
  • Allow specific usergroups to turn off ads
  • Use image, Flash, text/HTML (e.g., Google Adsense)
Issues

Yeah, yeah, not 100% phrased. Also, new installs of old versions required the following action (because for some odd reason, not doing so could cause an error): After a fresh installation, make sure you save your MASTER script (AdminCP -> GAB Manager -> Scripts -> MASTER -> Save). Nothing was obvious as to the cause of that problem, but if you happen to experience it, save your MASTER script and report the problem.

Installation
  • Copy the files included with this package into their corresponding folders on your server, overwriting existing files.
  • Import the product-gab.xml file via the ACP (AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product).
  • Make sure to CHMOD the /geek/gab/images directory so that it has 777 permissions so that you are able to upload banners.

Hey Morgan can you post some screen shot ? If i am going to buy this is it like vba, where you simply create a Modula and you insert the add code in it ( adbrite, google, whichever ) and later add that Modula to any page you like ?

Till now , I really don't know how GAB works, more detail would be appreciated.

tester 02-06-2008 01:38 AM

What is the best way to create side columns?

RaceJunkie 02-06-2008 02:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tester (Post 22993)
What is the best way to create side columns?

I use vbAdvanced

http://www.localracechat.com/forums/

http://www.localracechat.com/forums/...splay.php?f=60

http://www.vbadvanced.com/products.p...fo&productid=4

tester 02-06-2008 09:14 PM

I couldn't get the localracechat links to work.

Do you use vBadvanced CMPS ? It looks like there are multiple vBadvanced products.

RaceJunkie 02-06-2008 10:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tester (Post 23002)
I couldn't get the localracechat links to work.

Do you use vBadvanced CMPS ? It looks like there are multiple vBadvanced products.

Yea having db issues right now but I do use vBadvanced CMPS

tester 02-07-2008 03:45 PM

vBadvanced CMPS looks pretty nice but it might be overkill if all I want to do is create side columns.

Are there any other methods that anyone would recommend? I'd like to use GAB with ads in side columns.

RaceJunkie 02-07-2008 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tester (Post 23010)
vBadvanced CMPS looks pretty nice but it might be overkill if all I want to do is create side columns.

Are there any other methods that anyone would recommend? I'd like to use GAB with ads in side columns.

There are a couple on vb.org can't remember the exact url but should not be hard to find.;)

Morgan 02-08-2008 06:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by miyukichii (Post 22992)
Hey Morgan can you post some screen shot ? If i am going to buy this is it like vba, where you simply create a Modula and you insert the add code in it ( adbrite, google, whichever ) and later add that Modula to any page you like ?

Till now , I really don't know how GAB works, more detail would be appreciated.

The wiki will be updated sometime after all geek products are again available. Right now only GARS and GAZ have wiki entries, but check the GAB movie here. It is old, but should give you an idea.

RaceJunkie 02-08-2008 11:52 PM

Does this support a way to put a banner in the header template? I am running php ads new now but would like a replacement.

Morgan 02-09-2008 03:50 AM

Any vB template that is fetched after the global_start hook can contain ads, including the header, navbar, and footer templates. You may need to 'scope' the GAB ads variable in a plugin, similar to this, if you want ads in a template that is fetched from within a function.

attroll 02-10-2008 06:34 AM

Morgan

The Geek was going to set it up so that customers that pay for ads can view their impressions and clicks and things of that nature. Are you still going to move forward and set it up so our customers can do this?

miyukichii 02-11-2008 10:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morgan (Post 23039)
The wiki will be updated sometime after all geek products are again available. Right now only GARS and GAZ have wiki entries, but check the GAB movie here. It is old, but should give you an idea.

I liked the video but wasn't what i would expect, why can't we insert full code ? like google code, adbrite code etc.. ? I only see a place to replace a single url and upload the banner for that url. There is no place to place a whole code.

Morgan 02-11-2008 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by attroll (Post 23100)
Morgan

The Geek was going to set it up so that customers that pay for ads can view their impressions and clicks and things of that nature. Are you still going to move forward and set it up so our customers can do this?

Such things will be considered after all the geek scripts are back up. Right now I cannot tell you what will/won't be in future versions.

Quote:

Originally Posted by miyukichii (Post 23115)
I liked the video but wasn't what i would expect, why can't we insert full code ? like google code, adbrite code etc.. ? I only see a place to replace a single url and upload the banner for that url. There is no place to place a whole code.

The video is old. There is a box to enter HTML for a text ad.

MichelleB 02-12-2008 05:30 AM

Is there a way to set certain ads/color schemes to only show with specified templates? I have a very colorful site with several different templates, and wouldn't want the same color scheme on each.

attroll 02-12-2008 06:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morgan (Post 23130)
Such things will be considered after all the geek scripts are back up. Right now I cannot tell you what will/won't be in future versions.

I know that you took over where The Geek left off but that was one of the things promised that was going to be added when GAB went gold. That was one of the reason I purchased it. I know you can not follow through on what he promised but I just want to bring it to your attention that this was one of the things he intended to do. Thank you for considering this.

Morgan 02-13-2008 09:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MichelleB (Post 23149)
Is there a way to set certain ads/color schemes to only show with specified templates? I have a very colorful site with several different templates, and wouldn't want the same color scheme on each.

If you mean the 'wrapper' that appears around the ads you see on this site, that is a template that you can edit for each style.

.Joel 03-12-2008 10:39 AM

one more question...
 
Hi Morgan,

One more question regarding the new version of Gal. Are we able to set what words are used in which forum yet ?

Example;
The term TE has different meanings depending on which sport it is used it, and we have 3 different sports listed on the website. So depending on which section the user is reading the definition of TE will need to be different.

Regards,

.Joel

Morgan 03-12-2008 12:49 PM

For each GAL category, you can set what forums display keywords from the category.

zoque 04-03-2008 03:20 PM

hi morgan, how many queries does it add to any vbulletin-page?

thanks in advance.

Morgan 04-07-2008 05:10 PM

Never individually counted them, but viewing this page generates 18 queries (as told to me by the vB Debug Information) and that includes vB, GAB, and GAL queries.

Brandi 04-24-2008 12:47 PM

Thank you so much for this. I've been using GAB for years now and haven't found anything even remotely as awesome. YAY!

neverstop 05-21-2008 07:13 AM

Is there an admin demo/screenshots?

Morgan 05-21-2008 07:45 PM

Right now only GARS and GAZ have wiki entries (the wiki will be updated sometime after all geek products are again available) but check the GAB movie here. It is old, but should give you an idea.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.