The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Announcements (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Yo, Banner Me O' Plenty! (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=3905)

RaceJunkie 02-06-2008 10:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tester (Post 23002)
I couldn't get the localracechat links to work.

Do you use vBadvanced CMPS ? It looks like there are multiple vBadvanced products.

Yea having db issues right now but I do use vBadvanced CMPS

tester 02-07-2008 03:45 PM

vBadvanced CMPS looks pretty nice but it might be overkill if all I want to do is create side columns.

Are there any other methods that anyone would recommend? I'd like to use GAB with ads in side columns.

RaceJunkie 02-07-2008 04:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tester (Post 23010)
vBadvanced CMPS looks pretty nice but it might be overkill if all I want to do is create side columns.

Are there any other methods that anyone would recommend? I'd like to use GAB with ads in side columns.

There are a couple on vb.org can't remember the exact url but should not be hard to find.;)

Morgan 02-08-2008 06:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by miyukichii (Post 22992)
Hey Morgan can you post some screen shot ? If i am going to buy this is it like vba, where you simply create a Modula and you insert the add code in it ( adbrite, google, whichever ) and later add that Modula to any page you like ?

Till now , I really don't know how GAB works, more detail would be appreciated.

The wiki will be updated sometime after all geek products are again available. Right now only GARS and GAZ have wiki entries, but check the GAB movie here. It is old, but should give you an idea.

RaceJunkie 02-08-2008 11:52 PM

Does this support a way to put a banner in the header template? I am running php ads new now but would like a replacement.

Morgan 02-09-2008 03:50 AM

Any vB template that is fetched after the global_start hook can contain ads, including the header, navbar, and footer templates. You may need to 'scope' the GAB ads variable in a plugin, similar to this, if you want ads in a template that is fetched from within a function.

attroll 02-10-2008 06:34 AM

Morgan

The Geek was going to set it up so that customers that pay for ads can view their impressions and clicks and things of that nature. Are you still going to move forward and set it up so our customers can do this?

miyukichii 02-11-2008 10:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morgan (Post 23039)
The wiki will be updated sometime after all geek products are again available. Right now only GARS and GAZ have wiki entries, but check the GAB movie here. It is old, but should give you an idea.

I liked the video but wasn't what i would expect, why can't we insert full code ? like google code, adbrite code etc.. ? I only see a place to replace a single url and upload the banner for that url. There is no place to place a whole code.

Morgan 02-11-2008 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by attroll (Post 23100)
Morgan

The Geek was going to set it up so that customers that pay for ads can view their impressions and clicks and things of that nature. Are you still going to move forward and set it up so our customers can do this?

Such things will be considered after all the geek scripts are back up. Right now I cannot tell you what will/won't be in future versions.

Quote:

Originally Posted by miyukichii (Post 23115)
I liked the video but wasn't what i would expect, why can't we insert full code ? like google code, adbrite code etc.. ? I only see a place to replace a single url and upload the banner for that url. There is no place to place a whole code.

The video is old. There is a box to enter HTML for a text ad.

MichelleB 02-12-2008 05:30 AM

Is there a way to set certain ads/color schemes to only show with specified templates? I have a very colorful site with several different templates, and wouldn't want the same color scheme on each.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.