The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Announcements (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   New GAL version is here! (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=3834)

Hornstar6969 01-21-2008 03:11 AM

^^ yeah, still only GAB showing for your post lol refreshed a few times and still didnt work.

BTW with GAL 6. Is it using the new framework that The Geek was working at making for it originally? that he used in his AME mod?

WhatChaMissin 01-21-2008 03:32 AM

Congrats on your latest release. Its great to see this site alive again. Thanks for all your hard work Morgan.
________
LAUNCH BOX

Morgan 01-21-2008 03:45 AM

Ha ha ha ha, I had GAL (the script) set to not link GARS and GAL (the keywords) in this thread. That is all. So that means all is fine.

Hornstar6969 01-21-2008 04:02 AM

Okay cool, however have you now enabled it now?

Because I just noticed after refreshing several times, none of the above Auto links are now linking at all.

test:
GAB
GAR
GARS
GAL
lol
spider


Edit:

noticed your edit, okay cool.

Quote:

Edit 4:

Just goes to prove how freaking tired I am... I had GAL (the program) set to not auto-link GARS and GAL (the keywords) in this thread. I have now switched GAL (the program) to not auto-link this entire forum. GAL (the script) is running a-okay so far.

Morgan 01-21-2008 04:10 AM

Thanks, what I do is take the most recent version to which I have access and work from that. I cannot tell you if that is the most recent version that The Geek had but presumably a lot of the framework was in the GAL version from which I started. GAL was between states when I started working with the code, but so far so good. If you want to test the Ajax thing, do it here as I have turned off auto-linking in this forum. I don't want it to distract from the original post, but if you test in the other thread, you'll see it works as I previously stated. Silly me for forgetting what I had on/off but hey, I'm allowed. :o

tom 01-21-2008 04:33 AM

Quote:

For posts, you can Rebuild Post Cache but it is intensive.
Can you elaborate on this Morgan? Does this version insert bbcode in each post and therefore all posts need to be processed?

Morgan 01-21-2008 04:45 AM

If ever there is a hiccup and something that should be linking doesn't link, you can run Rebuild Post Cache to update the post cache, but you shouldn't find yourself needing to do that often. Not sure if it is a point of confusion, so just in case, I'll try to explain the Ajax thing. On full replies GAL can auto-link right as soon as you post, as that is a full page request, but with Ajax Quick Reply, it is a partial page request, so while GAL knows whether something needs to be auto-linked, the actual link doesn't show until the next time around. That is not something for which you should be running Rebuild Post Cache.

gothic 01-21-2008 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tigratrus (Post 22477)
Double Super Yea! Heh... Gothic's gonna explode with joy. He's been waiting a looooong time for this.

Thanks Morgan!

James and Susan

Lol ... Yep, Christmas come early http://www.cornishserver.com/01.gif http://www.cornishserver.com/01.gif
Gonna test it locally for a little this morning, but really looking forward to installing it later on.
Many thanks.

gothic 01-21-2008 06:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Morgan (Post 22475)
[*] If you wish to use GARS and GAL together, you will need to grab the GARS package and FTP the /geek/gars/includes/gars_class_edit.php file.[/list]

Sorry for what is probably a silly question (just crawled out the bed, first litre of coffee still brewing :o )
What do you mean 'and FTP the /geek/gars... etc' erm, FTP to where/what/do what with it???

Lizard King 01-21-2008 09:31 AM

Is this version really going to work without any problems ? I donot want to renew a buggy product again. As i renewed and used Gal without any single update for a really long time.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.