The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Geek Article and Review System (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   cant see custom fields (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=2039)

wildo69 08-31-2006 05:19 AM

cant see custom fields
 
cant seem to find where i went wrong
i followed the tutorial the best i could
http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=1558

the field shows up when creating or editing a review, but never in the final review (showthread)

i know this isn't enough to troubleshoot, so let me know what info will be helpful, ie settings, screenshots, etc

The Geek 08-31-2006 03:56 PM

Do you have the custom fields module active in your module set? Have you edited it to make sure that the custom fields you want to see are ticked?

wildo69 08-31-2006 04:47 PM

2 Attachment(s)
yes, i went through every step of the tutorial multiple times.
i would image its possible i missed something, but those two step you mentioned were complete

screen shots attached

wildo69 08-31-2006 04:49 PM

not sure if it matters, but what im doing is creating a library, a collection of books with reviews, the custom field im adding is a Snipped URL, and it will contain an amazon associate link to purchase the book through amazon.com

The Geek 08-31-2006 04:56 PM

In the module set you edit the module by clicking on it or seelcting edit from the dop down box. Check that and make sure your custom profiel field is ticked in there too.

wildo69 08-31-2006 05:26 PM

1 Attachment(s)
ok, i went into modules
under module set
clicked edit for the "Default Library Module Set" whcih is what im tryign to work with

and here is a screen shot of what i see

The Geek 08-31-2006 08:30 PM

Now click where it says Custom Field and make sure your custom field is ticked in the next screen that will appear.

wildo69 08-31-2006 08:49 PM

1 Attachment(s)
yep that was done also,
(not sure about the rest of the settigns int here though)

here is a screen shot of that

The Geek 08-31-2006 08:53 PM

WHat version are you using? There was a bug in an earlier version that would not display custom text fields. If you save and edit is the value there?

wildo69 08-31-2006 09:02 PM

2.0rc4d, i just purchased and downloaded a few days ago
vb is 3.6 gold


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.