The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Geek Article and Review System (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   anyone using GARS with thread prefix addon? (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=1851)

benj 08-04-2006 09:33 PM

anyone using GARS with thread prefix addon?
 
thread prefix hack

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=123033

anyone running GARS with this hack? hows it going any problems i want to try because i really need custom thread orders? im kinda scared of the work it will involve as well as the fact that sam might right in custom thread orders and itll be alot of work to convert back :S

any comments ?

bboy 09-30-2006 02:13 PM

I would also like to know if Mystics thread prefix hack will work with GARS. It would really increase the usefullness with my site. Has anyone got this running with GARS that can confirm they play nice together?

Geek, any chance of getting this type of functionality aded natively into GARS? ;)

The Geek 09-30-2006 02:52 PM

I cant eventually look into it. THough I havent looked at the hack, im sure it will work. Just make sure you carry over template edits into GARS

Hoffi 10-05-2006 01:35 PM

It Works, but you must disable Pferix for tha GARS Forums. In all other Forums you can use it. I just need the Prefix anymore in all Forums I use GARS.

But it will be great if I can move the prefixes in a custom Field.

bboy 10-24-2006 03:32 AM

Sorry Hoffi, I'm not clear on what you are saying. You say it works but not in the GARS forums themselves?

Can anyone confirm that they have been able to get this prefix mod working with GARS? :o

The Geek 10-24-2006 11:36 AM

All you have to do isapply the template edits to the GARS specific templates. i.e. what you change in newthread should also be changed in GARS_newthread, etc...

HTHs

JohnBee 11-21-2006 06:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Geek
All you have to do isapply the template edits to the GARS specific templates. i.e. what you change in newthread should also be changed in GARS_newthread, etc...

HTHs

Clear as mud.
However prefixes(or equivalent) would be a great big deal because in our case we will be using Gars to document several hundred articles. Although we are already dividing those into subforums the added prefix option would allow our users to filter out articles by prefix or type which would be a GREAT BIG PLUS!

Currently we are experimenting with creating a flag to indicate whether or not an article is a Review or News but im not sure this technique can be the equivalent of thread prefixes. Unless gars can filter out threads like prefixes does...

Prefixes are definitely worth developing


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.