The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Geek Article and Review System (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   How to do what they did on this site..... (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=1718)

cyrillsneer 07-07-2006 11:32 AM

How to do what they did on this site.....
 
I really like the article hack, using it on site www.geekforums.com

However,

I really like what they are doing with the system on www.techenclave.com and was wondering if anyone knew how they did it.

1) How on hell did they manage to allow HTML in the original post but not in any of the replies, i would love to be able to do this.

2) Have multiple featured articles displayed under the main article.

Lizard King 07-07-2006 12:43 PM

For second you just need to create a featured articles module and place it anywhere you want in showthread. You can edit module settings for how many featured articles you want to be shown.

For the first one this is done with settings.

cyrillsneer 07-10-2006 03:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lizard King
For second you just need to create a featured articles module and place it anywhere you want in showthread. You can edit module settings for how many featured articles you want to be shown.

For the first one this is done with settings.

Mmmmm,

This confuses me,

2) I thought i had already tried that but nothing seemed to change in the layout.

GARS -> Types -> Article Type

Term Set = Article Set
Template Set = Default
Modules = Deafult Module Set

GARS -> Modules -> Default Module Set -> Showthread

Featured Article is below threadlist

TOC is to the right of threadlist
Attachements is to the right of threadlist
Tools is to the right of threadlist

GARS -> Modules -> default module set -> forumdisplay

Featured article is below threadlist

all others turned off

GARS -> Modules -> default module set -> forumdisplay or showthread -> featured article

maximum number of threads = 3
which direction = horizontal


Now having said all that, refreshing cache and rebuilding tables, it doesn't seem to be having much luck affecting the website.

Landing page - www.geekforums.com

News page - http://www.geekforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25

Notice how there are modules being displayed that i have not selected and that there are 5 featured articles being displayed to the left and vertically.

Inside an Article - http://www.geekforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=208

Again only one featured article and it is not below the main article.


I am utterly confused by this, and the development of the site has completely frozen while i work out how to do this.


2) With all due respect i am not sure it can be, i would love to be wrong, can anyone show me how, i have already spent many hours looking through the settings before i posted this message but i had no luck finding anything.

I have spent a lot of time trying to fix this myself but to no avail, any help would be glady received.

The Geek 07-11-2006 12:27 AM

is your cache settings option on?

cyrillsneer 07-11-2006 10:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Geek
is your cache settings option on?

.... -> Featured Article

Cache method = on edit/new thread

The Geek 07-12-2006 04:43 AM

Sorry, I meant admincp->gars->settings->Cache Settings

cyrillsneer 07-12-2006 05:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Geek
Sorry, I meant admincp->gars->settings->Cache Settings

Cache modules = Yes
Cache settings = No

The Geek 07-12-2006 06:58 AM

Set cache settings to Yes

cyrillsneer 07-12-2006 10:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Geek
Set cache settings to Yes

Thanks very much that made the featured items appear within the article and disappear in the forum.

However things are a little strange.

1) In Forum it now displays some "tools" but not all of them. To the right of content. When i swear it is not there in the options.

http://www.geekforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25

2) Is there anyway to place the "feature articles" below the content rather than at the end of the post.

This is mine:

http://www.geekforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=208

I was hoping it would look like this:

http://www.techenclave.com/forums/pr...nes-75615.html

3) Is there anyway to make the forum display just look like the regular forum, but when you go into the thread you see it displayed like a normal Geek Article.

4) Any news on my question about being able to post HTML in the article but not allow it in any responses.


Sorry for all the questions, i have been trying at this for ages, thanks for the great support and great product, looking foward to fixing this so i can push on with GAB.

Lizard King 07-12-2006 11:20 AM

Quote:

3) Is there anyway to make the forum display just look like the regular forum, but when you go into the thread you see it displayed like a normal Geek Article.
Edit your template set and change GARS_forumdisplay to forumdisplay
Quote:

1) In Forum it now displays some "tools" but not all of them. To the right of content. When i swear it is not there in the options.
Article tools module is mainly for showthread so i dont advise you to put it on forumdisplay. Forumtools is not an option. It is a module. You can add new modules , change the module positions from admincp under GARS , Modules.

Quote:

2) Is there anyway to place the "feature articles" below the content rather than at the end of the post.

This is mine:

http://www.geekforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=208

I was hoping it would look like this:

http://www.techenclave.com/forums/pr...nes-75615.html
Just edit your module and change the position to below contect


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.