The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Tutorials (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Creating a new term set (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=1158)

The Geek 02-22-2006 09:41 PM

Creating a new term set
 
1 Attachment(s)
GARS allows you to create Term sets which enables you to apply a different phrasegroup to an individual type.

Though this is fairly well explained in the manual, I thought I would do a quick walk through for those wanting a quick step by step.

In this instance, I am going to create a recipe term set for those wishing to turn a GARS forum into a recipe section of their site.
  • Go into your terms display window (admincp->GARS->terms)
  • Click Add New
  • Title: My Recipe Term Set
  • Capitalised: Recipe
  • Capitalised Plural: Recipes
  • lowercase: recipe
  • Lowercase Plural: recipes
  • New thread button: newrecipe.gif (or whatever button you want to assign. Please note that it needs to reside in your styles images/buttons folder)
  • New reply button: comment.gif
  • Click Save
Ill attach a quick newrecipe.gif button for your recipe making pleasure.


NOTE: GARS does its best to generate a new phrasegroup for you. Its not always perfect so if you need to tweak a phrase, edit the term set and you will see a list of all the phrases it uses. There you can easily translate or change a phrase.

To apply the term set, create a new type (admincp->GARS->type) OR edit an existing type and set the Term Set to My Recipe Term Set.

nJoy

beduino 10-15-2006 03:46 PM

upgrade...
 
hello,
probably I miss anything when I make the upgrade :(
I have created a term set and I was translating him. I stop and make the upgrade. And... when I edit my term set i don't see the phrases anymore!
how can I fix it?
all the best
beduino

The Geek 10-16-2006 08:34 PM

Whenever you upgrade a vB plugin, it deletes ALL previous phrases associated with the product. THerefore its wise to do transalations to your product then export them so that next upgrade you can reimport them again. This is a vB limitation :(

beduino 10-17-2006 02:05 PM

Tks TheGeek!
When I finish translation [user view] to portuguese br, you wish i send to you? attach in our forum?
All the best
joao 'beduino' barroca

The Geek 10-19-2006 01:04 PM

That would be great... just post it in the GARS add on forum :)

THanks!

kongw 08-21-2008 10:21 AM

Thank you for you info! It's resolve my problem too!

ichatfilipina 03-10-2009 10:44 AM

Whenever you upgrade a vB plugin, it deletes ALL previous phrases associated with the product.

ahh!. I should have a backup first before upgrading my VB plugin. Thank you!


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Tutorial powered by GARS 2.1.9 ©2005-2006