The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Geek Article and Review System (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   GARS 2.1.5 Release Discussion (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=2932)

The Geek 03-04-2007 10:06 PM

GARS 2.1.5 Release Discussion
 
I'm pleased as punch to deliver a heaping helping of GARS loving straight to your door.

Please read this thread (at least this freaking post!) as it contains important information regarding upgrading and installing GARS 2.1.5

Whats new?

Several bug fixes. In fact, every confirmable bug has been fixed - several related to specific configurations of ratings causing odd results.
Several template fixes have also been made. Specifically the GARS_forumdisplay, GARS_pb and GARS_rating_result_bits2. If you have these templates changed, please be sure to revert them (the GARS_pb is only a minor change so that is optional)

There are not really any new features except a new clean up tool I put in to assist those having problems with duplicate author ratings. For more information on this 'feature/fix' please refer to this bug tracker entry: http://www.thevbgeek.com/tracker/ind...md=view&id=292

Please remember that any add ons installed through the GARS importer will need to be re imported (this time with the option of importing only the templates and phrases) after you upgrade gars.

Please note that you may also have to rebuild your custom field phrases.

Installation and upgrade instructions can be found on the download page through your license manager.

Leave this thread for discussion of the release. Open bugs in the tracker and keep troubleshooting in their own threads.

nJoy

alldoulas 03-05-2007 03:06 AM

I cannot find upgrading instructions. They are not on the downloads page, and when I downloaded the new release, the upgrade link in the readme doesn't go anywhere. There is only a link to the installation manual here but it doesn't seem to cover upgrading.

I am assuming I just overwrite all the files and re-upload the product? I'm going to give it a shot and hope I don't break it. :P

Pembroke 03-05-2007 08:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alldoulas (Post 16988)
I cannot find upgrading instructions. They are not on the downloads page, and when I downloaded the new release, the upgrade link in the readme doesn't go anywhere. There is only a link to the installation manual here but it doesn't seem to cover upgrading.

I am assuming I just overwrite all the files and re-upload the product? I'm going to give it a shot and hope I don't break it. :P

Oh yes! Me too!
Ot is work without problem The Geek?

The Geek 03-05-2007 08:48 AM

huh - swore I put them in there :D sorry!

To upgrade, simply upload the new package to the appropriate locations (overwriting your previous files)
Upload the product xml (choosing to overwrite).

Make sure though that you reimport the template/phrases of any custom add ons afterward and check that your custom field phrases have been rebuilt.

HTHs

Black_Widow 03-05-2007 04:05 PM

Hello,
excuse me. Has been this bug http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=2392 fixed in this new version?

Thanks

The Geek 03-05-2007 04:11 PM

Its not a bug - its a limitation (which I have explained several times now)

Black_Widow 03-05-2007 04:12 PM

Oh excuse me.
Has this limitation been solved ? if not, will it ever be solved?

Thanks

The Geek 03-05-2007 05:36 PM

If I could solve it, I would - sadly it does not appear that I can do without vb file edits and massive reworkings of the vB files. If I could find a way to solve it - you can bet I would... It just appears that I can't :(

Hornstar6969 03-07-2007 05:10 AM

Well cant you contact vbulletin and see if they can put in some hooks for you so you can complete it? or something along those lines?

The Geek 03-07-2007 11:25 AM

The problem isnt hook placement, its how posts are constructed. In order to be able to do what widow is asking - I would have to loop through the posts FIRST to get a count of posts - then extract the first post - then reprocess as normal. As it is now, vB does the query for the posts (sorted as per settings) and creates the posts AS it loops through the results. In this case, it would result in the first post of the page ending at the bottom.

Hope that makes sense.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.