PDA

View Full Version : Installation failure ...


greg watson
08-28-2005, 07:23 AM
GeekMart for 3.5 does not include installation instructions. I followed the instructions I found here in the forums ...

1. Uploaded the files in the upload directory.
2. Admincp/PluginSystem/Download-Upload Plugins ... uploaded the product-gmart.xml file ...

An error message briefly flashed by ... before the screen returned to the Plugin System screen. The Plugin System screen shows blank lines for the GAL and GeekMart installation attempts ...

Same occurance when I tried to install the GAL beta ...

Neither XML file appears to have installed the DB fields or phrases ...

What more information can I look for that would be helpful ...

Screen shot attached ...

Greg

Bad Bunny
08-28-2005, 07:42 AM
Make sure when uploading the file through the plugins section that you upload it as a product.

greg watson
08-28-2005, 07:54 AM
Make sure when uploading the file through the plugins section that you upload it as a product.

For any future individuals reading this thread ... don't be confused, there isn't a "product" option when uploading a plugin <grin> ... see picture ...

The standard plugin installation process is to upload an XML file like the product-gmart.xml file ... <grin> ...

Bad Bunny ****Probably**** means you need to make sure you upload the product-gmart.XML file as in the XML file with product in the name <grin> ... so don't let that confuse you ...

Greg

Bad Bunny
08-28-2005, 08:09 AM
No, what I meant is upload it as a product.

greg watson
08-28-2005, 08:15 AM
No, what I meant is upload it as a product.
Yuck <grin> ... I hate it when I'm wrong <grin> ...

If you go to the Plugin System, then to the Manage Products, you will then be able to see this barely visible link Add/Import Product ...

You can then import it here ... you can't "upload it" ...

Greg

Bad Bunny
08-28-2005, 08:22 AM
Yeah, sorry. My wording is off. I do that sometimes. lol

It's actually a pretty common mistake. The Plugin system is very new, and the Product Manager is even newer. Hopefully that should fix any issues you have installing.

Hmmm, for what it's worth, I thought I would look at it again. You actually can import or upload. Here is what the top of the page says.

EITHER upload the XML file from your computer
OR import the XML file from your server

The Geek
08-28-2005, 08:31 AM
Im confused now :)

Is this sorted?

greg watson
08-28-2005, 08:33 AM
Im confused now :)

Is this sorted?

Yes ... Bad Bunny guided me through the briar patch ...

Greg

Bad Bunny
08-28-2005, 08:38 AM
Sorry it went difficult for you. I was actually trying to help. :(

greg watson
08-28-2005, 09:26 AM
Sorry it went difficult for you. I was actually trying to help. :(
You did ... a lot ...

There is a children's story about Brer Rabbit ... who lives in a thorny briar patch ... and only a very smart rabbit can lead you through it ... thus when I wrote "Bad Bunny lead me through the briar patch" it means that a very smart bunny led me through a throny difficult patch ... a very large compliment to you ...

Hopefully that explanation makes sense ... sometimes I forget that not everyone on this plant comes from the same language and cultural backgrounds <grin> ...

Greg