PDA

View Full Version : Glossary term linking to autolink.php ?


abrecher
06-11-2009, 09:28 PM
I have a glossary term set up in GAL. When I click on the term on any page I get taken to:

http://www.Domain.com/autolink.php?id=2&forumid=84&script=showthread

This brings up a blank page.

If I change the url manually to:

http://www.lapbandtalk.com/glossary.php?id=2&forumid=84&script=showthread

Then the link works and takes me to this glossary term.

Please assist with this issue

Morgan
06-15-2009, 04:14 PM
The autolink.php link is for tracking. If you turn off tracking, the link will be the URL you set for the keyword; otherwise it is the autolink.php link and redirects to the URL you set for the keyword. Try temporarily disabling vBSEO and see if clicking a keyword in a post works.

abrecher
06-15-2009, 04:31 PM
Hey there,

Thanks for the response.
We aren't setting a URL for the Glossary Terms/Linking.

If we set an entry as 'Glossary', shouldn't it automatically link the term to it's glossary entry? If not, do we have to manually enter a URL for each glossary term we create? If so, what would this URL be?

Thanks for your time.

Morgan
06-15-2009, 05:15 PM
If you want to link to the glossary, then the URL you would use would be:

http://www.lapbandtalk.com/glossary.php?do=item&id=X

Where X is the ID for the GAL keyword. Though IDs are auto increment fields, you can't with 100% certainty know the ID before the GAL entry is created in the ACP, unless you guess, because it hasn't been created yet, so you'd need to create the GAL and then update the URL so it contains the ID. You need to specify a URL if you want to track, and you can find the ID when you go to edit the URL after the GAL is created. It will be on top of the page in parentheses.

abrecher
06-15-2009, 05:19 PM
Yikes.
Is there any chance you could implement a radio button that would 'link to glossary term' instead of having to enter a URL for every single entry we create?

Morgan
06-15-2009, 06:40 PM
You can edit the gal_admin.php file to add that effect. Find:

$gal->redirect("display", "GAL_saved_x", $item['title']);

Beforehand add:

$id = intval($id);
if ($id && !$item['url'])
{
// edit the link between the single quotes to match with your site
$url = 'http://www.lapbandtalk.com/glossary.php?do=item&id=' . $id;
$items = array('url' => $url);
$table = 'gal';
$strings = array('url');
$idcolumn = 'id';
$idvalue = $galdb->edit_x($items, $table, $strings, $idcolumn, $id);
}

abrecher
06-15-2009, 07:52 PM
Works like a charm -though I decided to modify your if statement, so that I'm still able to create my own links when needed.

New if statement:
So this way, as long as I enter a URL, it won't auto populate with the glossary listing.

Morgan
06-15-2009, 09:33 PM
Sounds good, code in post six edited to add in that effect.