PDA

View Full Version : Can not upload images


corey
01-29-2009, 03:04 AM
We all of the sudden can not upload images. Not in galleries, header images, setting default header images.. nothing.

It started off as problem with images being uploaded, but broken (the filesize would be 0 bytes). I upgraded to the latest version, and now it won't even attempt to upload (it acts like it is uploading, no errors at all... just does nothing but redirect as if the image actually uploaded).

If I upload a header image it ignores it and uses the default image instead.

It worked for 2 years. Did not touch any settings. Now it doesn't work, and upgrading seemed to have made it even worse (ignores uploads).

not running safe mode.
path/url is the same as it was when it worked last week.
chmod is the same as it was when it worked last week.
all other vbulletin gd functions work.

Any ideas?

edit: The only thing that has changed is my mysql version. Upgraded from 5.0.45 to 5.075
edit2: Just reverted back to my old version of mysql, still did not work.

Morgan
01-29-2009, 05:22 PM
MySQL wouldn't be it. Might be the directory permissions. Double check that the GARS images directory and all sub-directories in the GARS images directory have 777 permissions.

stckhlm
02-03-2009, 08:40 PM
I have same problem. But this problem occured after i moved my website to a new server.

I can not upload any header image or thumbnails in custom modules. I have ammended the path of the images directory. I have the correct permissions for image directory and all sub-directories.

I will appreciate it a lot if you give me an advise...

Regards

stckhlm
02-04-2009, 08:39 PM
I've solved my image uploading problem through Re-Sync pages - Clean Cache and Clean Orphans options. Thanks...

ATVTORTURE
03-16-2009, 12:34 PM
I am experiencing the same issue. However, Re-Sync pages, Clean Cache and Clean Orphans options does not solve the issue.

All directories have been verified for 0777 and the absolute path is correct as well. I have also tried functionality with safe mode on and off.

One thing to note, I no longer see the gallery of all the other header images now either.

Morgan
03-17-2009, 07:57 PM
Please double check that the server path in the GARS ACP Settings is correct. If safe mode is on in PHP, try setting it to off. Also check that the GARS images directory, and all sub-directories inside the GARS images directory, have 777 permissions. On a *nix server, to set 777 permissions in one go via hell, cd to your GARS images directory, and then type the following:

find YOUR_GARS_IMAGES_DIR -type d | xargs chmod 777

For the images, make sure they are on the server with 644 permissions and look in the HTML source for a link to an image, and then type that link into your browser to check if you can see the image.

stckhlm
05-09-2009, 03:14 PM
I've moved my website from a basic hosting account to own dedicated server. But now, i can not upload any image. Not just header images but also custom module pictures too...

Absolute path to images folder : (this folder and all subfolders are chmod 777)
/home/mysite/public_html/geek/gars/images
FULL URL to your default images folder
http://www.mysite/geek/gars/images

Safe Mode is off

*I've reuploaded all the original files and re-installed the product again. (with overwrite option)

*I did most of the options in Tools/AdminCP/GARS

Every time i post a new thread or even edit the current thread, instead of my selected image, the default image is showing on thread. So it doesnt upload any picture. And also in custom fields, i can not upload any image too.

How can i solve this problem ?

Morgan
05-11-2009, 05:47 PM
Looks like your Full URL is missing the .com bit, but as for uploading, try checking your server error logs for an error message pertaining to uploads. Maybe you don't have a /tmp directory set up, or if you do, maybe it is not world readable/writable, i.e., 777 permissions.

stckhlm
05-11-2009, 07:29 PM
Problem is not the .com bit. "mysite" was just an example. I have the /tmp directory and its chmod 777. Its really strange problem for me. I did most of the things but still can not solve the problem.

I couldnt fin any error in logs either.

Morgan
05-13-2009, 05:20 PM
Try checking whether your PHP installation is logging errors. Without an error message, it is really hard to say what is happening.