PDA

View Full Version : Disappearing Link


Mr Chris
09-17-2008, 01:34 PM
1) I noticed if I set up a link , I will only see it once in a test post. I I reload the page or go back to it.. the link disappears and just remains as plain text. How do I set it up so the links permanently stay there?


2) My forum is a year old. Is there a way to make the links affect all text in the entire forum? Or will links only be applied to words in future posts?

Thanks!

Morgan
09-17-2008, 04:21 PM
1: Go to the ACP -> GAL -> Settings -> Pages to run GAL and make sure both 'Showthread pages' and 'Showpost pages' are set to yes. Also check the other items listed in the troubleshooting section here (http://www.thevbgeek.com/geeki/index.php/Category:GAL) and via the ACP -> GAL -> Maintenance is the option to Rebuild Post Cache.

2: That should happen automatically. For example, here (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=5) is an old thread on this site.

Mr Chris
09-17-2008, 09:54 PM
Yeah both are set to yes.

I hit the button to rebuild.

The problem still persists any other ideas? I am dying to get this working.

Morgan
09-18-2008, 02:00 PM
Are all the items listed in the troubleshooting section here (http://www.thevbgeek.com/geeki/index.php/Category:GAL) set accordingly? What is a keyword and link to a thread that is to have that keyword auto-linked?

Mr Chris
09-25-2008, 06:46 PM
Ok I got it figured out everything seems to be working fine. Just 2 questions though:

1) How do I stop that box from popping out when a linked word is hovered over. I only want a link to appear.. No image pop out or anything.


2) Not as important. It didnt seem to cache old posts in my forum. It is woring for new posts though.


Thanks!

Mr Chris
09-25-2008, 06:52 PM
Just figured out item #1

still need help with 2

thanks

Morgan
09-26-2008, 02:05 PM
Try the ACP -> GAL -> Maintenance -> Rebuild Post Cache option.

Mr Chris
09-26-2008, 02:27 PM
RAD!

Thanks!