PDA

View Full Version : Thousands of Links


StuartDH
06-20-2008, 05:24 PM
I want to add literally thousands of auto links to my forum and I've just got Auto-Linker, but it looks like it's a long process adding one keyword/link at a time.

I've also got vbseo and it just needs me to paste lines of text in a single box like:

'ebay' => 'http://www.ebay.com'
'msn' => 'http://www.msn.com'

This means I can add hundreds of lines of similar code by simply pasting it into the text box.

Using my sitemap to extract links, then a quick shuffle around in excel to add the 'keyword' => etc means I can do hundreds of links in next to no time.

Can I do a similar thing with GAL? It has so many more features for auto-links than vbseo (which only really has auto-linking as a side feature), but if it's one at a time in GAL then it'll take forever to set up and that's a non-starter for me so I hope I've missed something.

Thanks

Stu

Morgan
06-21-2008, 05:55 PM
Auto-links can be set using the glossary.php page or the ACP, but nope, there is no mass add option.

StuartDH
06-22-2008, 12:36 PM
Thanks for the info.

Could you add some more details on how to add lots of links via global.php

Are there any plans for creating a mass add option? With vbseo I can add literally hundreds of links in less than ten minutes using sitemaps and excel/notepad to do some quick find/replace content

Stu

Morgan
06-24-2008, 05:39 PM
Take a look at the else if ($action == 'savegal') block of code in the gal_admin.php file to see what needs to occur to save one entry. You'd need to write a script that takes in multiple entries and performs a similar routine as in the gal_admin.php file for each entry. While vBSEO allows you to mass add entries, each entry in GAL can have different options than the next, so it is doubtful that GAL would get a mass add option.

StuartDH
06-24-2008, 09:01 PM
Thanks, I'll take a look at that.

If you did have a mass add option for GAL, couldn't it just have the range of options set to specific user-set defaults, then make any changes later on wherever they're need on individual links? It would still save a massive amount of time compared to adding one link at a time. I'd really like to use GAL, but vbseo is just so easy that it's going to be hard to move over at the moment.

Stu

Morgan
06-25-2008, 07:13 PM
It could, just depends on which options you want to hard set and which options you want to be able to enter into a form.

StuartDH
06-26-2008, 01:48 AM
OK, I think I'll stick with vbseo for now

Let me know if you ever come up with a mass add option as I've got a few sites I could use it on

until then, anyone want to buy a secondhand copy of GAL? :D

Stu

catfish
07-02-2008, 02:00 AM
GAL is sold, PM me... :)