PDA

View Full Version : Ouch!


tekguru
02-29-2008, 09:43 PM
Well after reading all the good things about GABS I bought the system today. The good news easy-ish to configure.

But....

1) Setting up one top banner pair (header) to alternate between an image ad adn an adsense add increases the load on the server - instead of it averaging 0.56 to 0.73 it went to 0.83 to 1.12 - not good?

2) In the past I have used the Major Additions - vB Ad Management 4 mod and this allowed the header banners to be on all pages on site - this does not seem possible with GAB?

Any solutions to any of these issues? As otherwise it looks like I'l have to disable it and will have wasted the money...

gldtn
02-29-2008, 11:06 PM
2) Yes! This is highly possible by configuring your SCRIPT section of GAB. You can even add new SCRIPT in case you have a mod that is not configured by default. Check the readme file which explain with more details.

HTH's

Morgan
03-02-2008, 05:05 AM
1: Loads very over time so try checking at different times of the day. Another thing you can do is to turn debug mode on by adding the following to your vB config.php file (on a new line after the <?php will do) and then load a page with GAB generated banners and look at footer of the page:

$config['Misc']['debug'] = true;

When in debug mode, click the question mark in the 'Queries Executed X (?)' line to see the queries.

tekguru
03-02-2008, 06:21 PM
Cheers guys it has now stabalised somewhat. I've managed to add scripts in for most Mods apart from Links and Downloads in which there is a cache variable conflict.

Speed does vary as you say during the day and that I'm continuing to monitor. At the moment speed is acceptable but if it dips again I'll look at the debug option.