PDA

View Full Version : upgrade to GAL 6 - not working


cellarius
01-21-2008, 06:54 AM
Hi Morgan,

just renewed my license for your new GAL. Tried to install, did the following (as instructed):

- uploaded all files in the upload-folder
- went to my admin-cp - or rather: wanted to go there; all my forum showed was
Warnung: Missing argument 1 for gal_base() in /geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php (Zeile 46)

Warnung: Missing argument 2 for gal_base() in /geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php (Zeile 46)

Warnung: Missing argument 3 for gal_base() in /geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php (Zeile 46)

Warnung: Missing argument 4 for gal_base() in /geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php (Zeile 46)

Warnung: Missing argument 5 for gal_base() in /geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php (Zeile 46)

Warnung: Missing argument 6 for gal_base() in /geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php (Zeile 46)

Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object in /homepages/8/d32851927/htdocs/roma-antiqua/forum/geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php on line 109
So i tried to go to admincp directly, which, after trying to log in, gave me the same errors. Luckily, I had backed up the gal-folders; after restoring it, I was able to access the admincp.

So I tried the other way round: I first updated the product, then copied the new gal-files to the server. Now, I was able to access my forums alright, but when accessing a showthread.php-page, all I got was gibberish:
$this->post_cache[$post['postid']][0] = $post['dateline']; } } return $text; } function match($item, $id) { global $post, $threadinfo, $stylevar; static $counter; static $inied; $id = intval($id); //record this entry into the cache if ($post['postid'] && !$this->cached['posts'][$post['postid']]['find'][$id]) { $this->postcache[$post['postid']]['dateline'] = $post['dateline']; $this->postcache[$post['postid']]['gals'][$id] = $id; } if (!$_POST['isajax'] && !$_POST['fromquickreply']) { //Cache usergroup exemptions $catid = $this->cached[$id]['catid']; if (!$this->cat_usergroups[$catid]['ini']) { $this->cat_usergroups[$catid]['ini'] = true; $this->cat_usergroups[$catid]['exempt'] = is_member_of($this->user, explode(",", $this->cached[$id]['usergroups'])); if ($this->cat_usergroups[$catid]['exempt']) { $this->cat_usergroups[$catid]['exempt'] = strtolower($this->core->userinfo['field' . $this->cached[$id]['profile']]) == strtolower($this->cached[$id]['field_value_yes']); } } if (!$this->cat_usergroups[$catid]['exempt']) { $gal =& $this->cached[$id]; if ( !$threadinfo['threadid'] || !$gal['ignorethread'] || ($threadinfo['threadid'] && $gal['ignorethread'] && $threadinfo['threadid'] != $gal['ignorethread']) ) { //We cant hook into Ajax Quick reply, nor does the user want to view GALs so we will record, but not replace. $this->impressions[$id] ++; $counter ++; $gal['id'] = $id; $gal['match'] = $item; $gal['tagid'] = 'gal_' . $id . '_' . $post['postid'] . '_' . $counter; if ($gal['track_hits'] && $this->forumid) { $gal['url'] = $vbulletin->options['bburl'] . "/autolink.php?id=$id&forumid=" . $this->forumid . "&script=" . rawurlencode(THIS_SCRIPT); } eval('$item = "' . fetch_template($this->link_templates[$id]) . '";'); if (!$this->cached_content[$id]) { $gal['content'] = $this->parse_vb_bbcode($gal['content'], $gal['html']); eval('$content = "' . fetch_template($this->content_templates[$id]) . '";'); $this->cached_content[$id] = $content; $this->cached_ids .= ",$id"; } if (!$this->cached_x[$post['postid']][$id]) { $this->cached_x[$post['postid']][$id] = "
" . $this->cached_content[$id] . "
(randomly copied, there was a lot more than that).

So, now that I bought it, how can I use it?

My forums are at http://www.roma-antiqua.de/forum, old gal 4.8.1. restored and working.

Thanks for your help,
cellarius

Dr. Bantham
01-21-2008, 10:38 AM
I experienced this same problem. First, I uploaded GAL 4.8.1 files back in place to get the board working. I then reversed the steps and uploaded the xml file first, followed by uploading the new GAL 6.0 files. This worked for me.

UPDATE
Well, the installation appeared to go well, but none of my pre-existing or new links actually work. I have checked all GAL settings and rebuilt the post cache, all to no avail. Hmmm...

Legende
01-21-2008, 11:39 AM
same problem here

cellarius
01-21-2008, 12:17 PM
same problem here
Which one?

Legende
01-21-2008, 12:21 PM
after uploading the new files, the forum gives me a blank page on every site (even admincp) and error log says:

PHP Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object in /var/www/vhosts/domain.com/httpdocs/geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php on line 109, referer:

Morgan
01-21-2008, 03:18 PM
Do these steps and let me know how it works...

Place this in your vB config.php file after the <?php at the top:

define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);

FTP the GAL files to your server, even if you already have done it.
Import the product-gal.xml file via the vB ACP products manager.
Remove the line in step one from your vB config.php file.
Go to GAL Maintenance via the ACP and click Rebuild RegExp Cache.

Wildthinks
01-21-2008, 04:10 PM
Dont work for me... the keyword dont displayed...

No difference to beta 5 :confused:

Morgan
01-21-2008, 04:17 PM
Did you go to the vB ACP -> Geek Auto-Linker -> Categories and for each category click it, and then under Forums set the forums where you want auto-links to appear?

Wildthinks
01-21-2008, 04:55 PM
yes for the first two, the last i cant find any to gal in my forums.

Screenshot for problems with gal
910

Seems that the regexp not work properly or i have problem with my keywords...??

cellarius
01-21-2008, 05:00 PM
Hi Morgan,

I did as you propsed and installation went ok this time. But, as with Wildthinks, the GALs are not replaced in the forum. I did activate forums in the categories setting, and, of course, I did activate GAL for showthread and showpost pages in settings. After that, I rerun both cache rebuikding features.

By the way: Perhaps you should have an upgrade walkthrough where you mention all this stuff; I wouldn't have thought of setting the forums anew for my old categories, if you had not told here.

Keep up the good work (and, please, make my GALs come back ;))
cellarius

P.S.: If it would help, I'd grant you admin access to my forum. I think I could trust you with that :)

Morgan
01-21-2008, 05:18 PM
The old regexp is as follows:

#(\b((?<=\s|"right">|"left">|"center">|<li>|<span class="highlight">|<strong>|<b>|<i>)(?<!--GAL--> )($1))s?\b)#im

You can add that as a new regexp and then under Categories, you can chose the regexp to use, and then Rebuild RegExp Cache to ensure its use.

The new regexp is as follows:

#(\b($1)\b(?=[^>]*<)(?!.*</option>))#im

This new regexp was made so that text inside HTML tags does not get linked. For example, you wouldn't want to link GARS in the following tag:

- if this were showing a real image GARS would not be linked with the new regexp
- as this line is not a real image, but rather text for an image tag, GARS links

<img src="wherever.gif" border="0" alt="See GARS in action" />

The old regexp would create auto-links inside tags, but you can try it if you want. Also, with GARS 6 keywords should contain only "word" characters (\w for those familiar with regexp), apostrophe ('), and dash (-). Other characters are stripped, and matches are made on keywords surrounded by boundaries (\b for those familiar with regexp). That means a keyword such as cat would match cat but not catch and not scat and not scatter.

cellarius
01-21-2008, 05:28 PM
Did not work, I'm afraid. There are no GALs with the old RegEx either...

Morgan
01-21-2008, 05:34 PM
Hmm, I'll take you up on that forum access.

cellarius
01-21-2008, 05:43 PM
Hmm, I'll take you up on that forum access.
You got pm.

cellarius
01-21-2008, 06:09 PM
Already see you on my board (forgot to make you invisible and several of my users warned me off that there was a rogue Admin on the loose :D).

Just wanted to say: If needed, you can have ftp access too, of course.


----
Ceterum censeo that there really should be a Photopost import script for Photoplog :D:D:D

Wildthinks
01-21-2008, 06:12 PM
i tried the old regex ... no different...

some of my cats are displayed the other not ....
mysterious...

Morgan
01-21-2008, 06:31 PM
Go to the vB ACP -> Geek Auto-Linker -> Categories and for each category click it, and then under Forums, check that the forums where you want auto-links to appear are ticked.

Morgan
01-21-2008, 06:55 PM
One thing I just found... If you do not set any content for a keyword, then there is no auto-link for that keyword. This makes sense if you are using the gal_link_popup template (as the content is what is shown in the pop-up) but not for the gal_link_standard template (as this template is used to redirect to another page). Am looking into this now, but in the meantime, if you are using the gal_link_standard template, add something, anything, to the content box.

Morgan
01-21-2008, 08:32 PM
Okay folks, tweaks done. Grab the GAL package again and FTP three files:

/geek/gal/includes/gal_class_core.php
/geek/gal/includes/gal_class_vb_db.php
/geek/gal/includes/gal_class_vb_db_dictionary.php

This should take care of the incorrect autolink.php link, as well as deal with the keywords where there is no content.

If not already done, remember to go to the vB ACP -> Geek Auto-Linker -> Categories and for each category in the Categories box, click the link, and then under Forums, check the forums where you want auto-links from that category to appear.

cellarius
01-22-2008, 05:37 AM
Thank you very much for your quick help!