PDA

View Full Version : Is this forumdisplay possible with gars ?


Lizard King
10-24-2005, 11:05 PM
I am thinking of using Gars in another part of my board and i want to make the forumdisplay look like the attached screenshot (prepared in photoshop) is it possible ? and if yes how can i do this in 3 or 4 colomns ?

The Geek
10-25-2005, 08:01 AM
Sure.

What you would need to do is create a new threadbit that housed the items you want (header image, title and byline) then under the type, set its threadbit to the new template.

Now the real problem: You need some procesing to wrap each threadbit into a row.
Because your design has say 3 threadbits per row, every 3 threadbits you will need to put <tr>'s around them.

Not overly hard, and would look cool.

HTH's

Lizard King
10-25-2005, 03:17 PM
I am not sure if it is totally the correct way to do but i prepared the template but how can put a <tr> after every 3 threadbits ?
This is the template i got
<td class="alt1">
<div>
<table cellpadding="0" class="alt2" align="center" cellspacing="0" width="200">
<tr>
<td class="tcat" id="t$thread[threadid]" title="$thread[preview]" align="center" valign="top" width="100%" style="padding: 5px">
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$thread[threadid]$thread[highlight]"><if condition="$show['gotonewpost']"><strong>$thread[threadtitle]</strong><else />$thread[threadtitle]</if></a>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding="0" class="alt2" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="200">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" align="center" valign="top" style="padding: 5px;" >
<if condition="$show['GARS_attach_as_header_image']">
<if condition="$thread['attachid']">
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$thread[threadid]$thread[highlight]"><img src="attachment.php?attachmentid=$thread[attachid]&stc=1&thumb=1" border="0" style="border: 2px #000000;padding:2px;"></a>
<else />
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$thread[threadid]$thread[highlight]"><img src="$show[GARS_default_header_image]" border="0" style="border: 2px #000000;padding:2px;"></a>
</if>
<else />
<if condition="$thread['header_image']">
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$thread[threadid]$thread[highlight]"><img src="$thread[header_image]" border="0" style="border: 2px #000000;padding:2px;"></a>
<else />
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$thread[threadid]$thread[highlight]"><img src="$show[GARS_default_header_image]" border="0" style="border: 2px #000000;padding:2px;"></a>
</if>
</if>
<div class="smallfont">
$thread[synopsis]
</div>
</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt2" align="center" valign="middle" style="padding: 5px;">
<div class="smallfont">
<span style="cursor:pointer" onclick="window.open('member.php?$session[sessionurl]u=$thread[postuserid]')">Gönderen $thread[postusername]</span>
<br />
$vbphrase[GARS_last_activity] $thread[lastpostdate] <if condition="!$show['detailedtime']"><span class="time">$thread[lastposttime]</span></if>
<phrase 1="member.php?find=lastposter&amp;t=$thread[threadid]" 2="$thread[lastposter]">$vbphrase[by_x]</phrase> <a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]goto=lastpost&amp;t=$thread[threadid]"><img class="inlineimg" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/lastpost.gif" alt="$vbphrase[go_to_last_post]" border="0" /></a>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

</div>

</td>

I am not sure if it is the best way to prepare this template also :P

The Geek
10-25-2005, 03:58 PM
You would need to put some code in a hook (most likely something like threadbit_process_complete) that would keep a running total of how many times its run. You would also need a way to catch it AFTER the threadbits have been processed for any threadbits that dont complete a whole row.