PDA

View Full Version : Member Info Top X


The Geek
09-13-2006, 10:00 AM
This was whipped together for Trana who has been asking for a few weeks for it. ;)

All this really does is allow you to stick a 'top' module (like the author top module) in a members profile page to create a 'Latest Articles from user' kind of thing.

Its easily extendable, but Ill leave that to the community to do if there is enough demand. Im off to work on GARS and GAL ;)

(btw: this is a vBulletin product - NOT a GARS add on that you import)

nJoy

trana
09-13-2006, 07:40 PM
This looks cool, but it doesn't seem to be displaying on my profile pages. I copied the files, imported the product, set the options and put the template name in the memberinfo template, still no luck.

The Geek
09-13-2006, 09:15 PM
They have to have items in a GARS controlled forum. You sure thats the case?

trana
09-13-2006, 09:19 PM
Yes, absolutely. And I put the forum number in the admin options for this module.

Has anyone else gotten this to work?

The Geek
09-13-2006, 09:22 PM
What if you leave it blank?

trana
09-13-2006, 09:49 PM
That doesn't work either. These are my server stats if it makes any difference:

VB 3.6.0
GARS 2 beta 5
IIS6
VBSEO

I know you are busy with other projects so thank you again for helping with this. I see some exciting and creative ideas for how to use this.

Lizard King
09-15-2006, 12:54 PM
I gave a try also Sam but doesn't working.

Ramses
09-15-2006, 02:40 PM
Same here, does not work, because there exist no phrases as are in the php file, for ex. "GARS_addon_member_top_comments" I think. Also there's no GARS_addon_member_top template as requested in the php file.
eval('$GARS_addon_member_top .="' . fetch_template('GARS_addon_member_top') . '";');
It would be really cool to get this working.

The Geek
09-15-2006, 09:13 PM
Opps. Sounds like I uploaded the wrong product xml. Ill try to upload tonight after I find out what happened

Ramses
09-18-2006, 11:23 AM
Sorry for bumping, any news about it? Thanks :)

The Geek
09-18-2006, 10:39 PM
Sorry man... I just reminded myself today to get to this. Ill put it up FOR SURE tomorrow!

The Geek
09-19-2006, 07:01 PM
Updated. I also made a small tweak to the inlude file so youre best reuploading that.

Remember that this is pretty basic, however a little tweaking can really make it soar.

Ramses
09-19-2006, 10:14 PM
Thanks a lot, this is really cool :) :cool:

trana
09-23-2006, 08:52 PM
Has anyone gotten this to work yet? I uploaded the new version and it still is not showing.

Thanks.

Ramses
09-24-2006, 07:25 AM
Maybe you forget to add the code into your memberinfo template?
Or in the acp settings to assign forums?
It does work for me.

trana
09-26-2006, 04:49 AM
It still doesn't seem to work for me.

I uninstalled and reinstalled the product. I reuploaded the files, set the admincp options and put it here in my memberinfo:

<br />$FNB_HTML<br />
<p>$comment_panel</p><br />
$GARS_addon_member_top
</td>
</tr></table></td>
</table>
<br />
$footer

It still doesn't show up. Also, I upgraded from the release candidate to Gold just to be sure it wasn't related to that.

Any ideas how I can troubleshoot this?

Thanks!

Ramses
09-26-2006, 11:11 AM
Only help can give you, try maybe to put the code as below:
</table>
$GARS_addon_member_top
$footer

</body>
</html>
And attached my screenshot of the acp settings.
And maybe check again if you put gars_member_top.php to geek\gars\includes folder. Good luck

trana
09-26-2006, 07:09 PM
Yeah, all of that was setup properly. I just checked everything again.

After that, I went and ran all of the GARS maintenance tools and now it is showing up! Finally.

Time to play. Have you tried to put the header images inline with the text yet?

trana
09-26-2006, 07:12 PM
I think I figured out what was wrong before.

If you use this to point to a subforum, you need to put the main forum ID in the list of forums to pick from as well. I don't know why it works that way, but it does. Maybe Geek can hed some light.

The Geek
09-26-2006, 07:45 PM
Any forums you want to pull from need to be in the list. It doesnt do any searching of child forums or anything.

Hope its working well for you now

trana
09-26-2006, 07:58 PM
Any forums you want to pull from need to be in the list. It doesnt do any searching of child forums or anything.


No, what I meant was that it appears that a subforum that was listed in the admincp options would not be searched unless the parent is also listed. Does that sound possible?

It is working now, so thank you again.

The Geek
09-27-2006, 10:43 PM
Shouldnt be the case. Couldnt for the life of me figure out why that would be... anyway... as long as its sorted for now ;)

trana
10-05-2006, 05:16 AM
Can you help me get the code straightened out for displaying the header image next to the title?

I see you have this:

$results = $db->query_read("SELECT t.title, t.views, t.replycount, t.threadid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread t WHERE t.visible=1 " . ($forumid ? " AND t.forumid in (-1$forumid) " : "") . "AND t.postuserid = $userinfo[userid] $orderby LIMIT " . (intval($limit) ? $limit : "5"));


$bits = "";
while ($result = $db->fetch_array($results))
{
$bits .= "<div class=\"smallfont\">
<a href='showthread.php?t=$result[threadid]' title='$result[title]'>$result[title]</a></div>";
}
if ($bits)
{
eval('$GARS_addon_member_top .="' . fetch_template('GARS_addon_member_top') . '";');
}



Do I need to do a separate SELECT to load the header images from the gars table or can it all be included on the one $results?

Thanks.

The Geek
10-05-2006, 07:46 AM
No, however your query should be more like this one:


$results = $db->query_read("SELECT g.header_image, t.title, t.views, t.replycount, t.threadid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread t INNER JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "gars g ON t.threadid = g.threadid WHERE t.visible=1 " . ($forumid ? " AND t.forumid in (-1$forumid) " : "") . "AND t.postuserid = $userinfo[userid] $orderby LIMIT " . (intval($limit) ? $limit : "5"));


Havent tested it, but it should be fine.

trana
10-05-2006, 11:13 PM
No, however your query should be more like this one:


$results = $db->query_read("SELECT g.header_image, t.title, t.views, t.replycount, t.threadid FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "thread t INNER JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "gars g ON t.threadid = g.threadid WHERE t.visible=1 " . ($forumid ? " AND t.forumid in (-1$forumid) " : "") . "AND t.postuserid = $userinfo[userid] $orderby LIMIT " . (intval($limit) ? $limit : "5"));


Havent tested it, but it should be fine.

But then I need to point to the proper forum right?

Like here?

<img alt=\"\" src='forum/" . ($info[$result['threadid']]['header'] == "" ? $this->settings['url_to_header_images'] . '/' . $this->type['default_image'] : $info[$result['threadid']]['header']) . "' style='border: 0px #000000;padding:0px;' />

The Geek
10-06-2006, 07:23 AM
How are you trying to make it look?

trana
10-06-2006, 08:28 PM
I just want to show the header image in a row next to the title. I can work out the formatting of the $bits to get it to look like the rest of my page, but I can't seem to merge how you derived the location of the header files. It would be easy if I could just call it like I can do with $avatar.

The Geek
10-07-2006, 11:57 PM
oh... hold on... you're not after the forum name, but after the header image? The header image is called header_image not header. Try that.

trana
10-08-2006, 02:49 AM
oh... hold on... you're not after the forum name, but after the header image? The header image is called header_image not header. Try that.

Right, but the header images are based on your own directory structure right? So I need to put in the directory name as well? I'm using the CMPS GARS block as an example of how to call the header image and it has a whole bunch of stuff with the admin settings and $this (???) which are required to point to the actual header image. Is there another way?

Thanks Geek!

The Geek
10-08-2006, 11:12 AM
Hang fire and Ill retweak this to include the option to display a header image :)

trana
10-08-2006, 09:56 PM
That would be really cool! Thanks :)

trana
10-23-2006, 03:53 AM
I know this is low priority, but do you have any idea when this might be available?

Thanks!

The Geek
10-23-2006, 09:36 AM
Not sure yet... Feel free to Bump/PM me to keep poking me :)

trana
10-30-2006, 09:32 PM
http://www.manhattanreefs.com/forum/images/smilies/bump2.gif

trana
11-16-2006, 06:40 AM
Yet another heartless bump. :)

trana
11-28-2006, 09:51 PM
I've been trying to get this to work for a while now. Has anyone else successfully been able to display images or thumbnails of the header image next to the names of the articles? I've exhausted my limited PHP/SQL skills, the images are still not showing up.

Scribbller
01-03-2007, 02:13 PM
It seems to be pulling threads out of a non GARS forum but not pulling out anything from GARS forum.. why?

The Geek
01-03-2007, 03:41 PM
You need to set which forums for it to pull from via its settings page.

HTHs

Scribbller
01-04-2007, 07:32 AM
I did do that.

The Geek
01-04-2007, 11:00 AM
If you change your gars settings to NOT use the settings cache... does it work right then?

Scribbller
01-04-2007, 12:07 PM
I dont use settings cache anyways.

sebbo
01-14-2007, 07:47 PM
Can this mod be edited so that it would show Top 5 ratings made by current user?

The Geek
01-15-2007, 12:07 AM
check out this mod instead: http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=2087

Scribbler - Im on the road right now so I dont have access to the code. Bump this if I dont get back to it on my return so I can check it out.

HTHs

mac27
01-23-2007, 07:46 AM
I tried this and it threw up a dB error on me. Any ideas from anyone?


Invalid SQL:
SELECT t.title, t.views, t.replycount, t.threadid FROM thread t WHERE t.visible=1 AND t.forumid in (-146,47,48,) AND t.postuserid = 1 ORDER BY t.dateline DESC LIMIT 5;

MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ') AND t.postuserid = 1 ORDER BY t.dateline DESC LIMIT 5' at line 1
Error Number : 1064

The Geek
01-23-2007, 03:24 PM
Check your settings as it has a trailing comma. I also just spotted a bug with this because of your post that will cause it to NOT pull the first forum. THerefore I have update it - make sure you download the latest version.

mac27
01-23-2007, 04:55 PM
Got it thanks. Damn those commas. LOL

So has anyone edited it so you can separated each forum you choose to be displayed?

trana
01-23-2007, 10:37 PM
Any word on when we might see the header image thumbnail in this module?

The Geek
01-24-2007, 10:20 AM
Hey trana, no word yet. It really isnt overly difficult to do - its just a matter of time :)

mac27
01-25-2007, 05:51 AM
So has anyone made this so it can be separated out by the type of release. Like a table for releases, one for tutorials, one for articles? I hope I made since.

popowich
07-17-2007, 06:09 AM
Where can I see this in action?

-Raymond

popowich
07-21-2007, 10:56 PM
I added it on the right side. The page is smaller and it makes better use of the whitepace (for me). Here is the placement and surrounding lines:

</div>
</div>
<br />$GARS_addon_member_top
</td>

</tr>
</table>
<br />

$footer

</body>
</html>

-Raymond

pixie
07-25-2007, 08:27 PM
What a pity, I thought this would include the headerimages of galerie-entries as well! :(

Can somebody please code this? :D It would be such a nice feature to have. Some sort of latest featured items of the user! GREAT!

Gas
05-14-2008, 09:51 PM
hi!
will there be a 3.7 version for this product? :)

Morgan
05-15-2008, 02:10 AM
Not sure if anyone will get to making one. Maybe/maybe not.

e36freak
06-14-2009, 04:55 PM
Hello all,

i would need this view in the postbit legacy view. Could somebody help me to generate the code? It would be perfect to get it like a vbmenu (dropdown).



Sorry for my bad english.

Morgan
06-15-2009, 05:37 PM
This wouldn't be good for the postbit, as you don't want a query for every post, especially on big boards.

e36freak
06-16-2009, 11:47 AM
Yes I understand, but I know this board:

http://www.bmw-drivers.de/forum-81/das-perfekte-auto-fuer-unseren-msm-t-43134.html

If you will take a look at the drop down menu "geparkte Fahrzeuge". There are all the gars articles in it which the autor has written. This would be the best solution for me, any chance?

Morgan
06-22-2009, 05:06 PM
Sorry, I'm not aware of any module to add that to the drop down in postbit so it'd probably need custom code.