PDA

View Full Version : Geeker Questions...


Bryan
02-04-2006, 12:41 PM
Is there any way to make Geeker work with large files (around 20megs)?

Are the files uploaded in the Product Manager (geeker) stored in the database or file system?

Is there any way to make it use a folder that is above the webroot?

Thanks! :)

Bad Bunny
02-04-2006, 02:55 PM
Yeah, I tried to use Geeker, but found out I couldn't, cause it wouldn't upload my files. I don't remember there being anything about the maximum file size, and I don't actually recall any error. It just didn't work.

The Geek
02-04-2006, 04:02 PM
huh, thats odd bunny.
They are stored in the database, so I suspect that large files would be a bit sketchy. You could possibly edit the field type though to accomidate a larger file.Not sure if it would work though.

Bad Bunny
02-04-2006, 04:21 PM
Yeah, it just hung and never proceeded for me. My band has MP3s that we sell online, I have them individually zipped, but none of them will work with Geeker.

It doesn't stop, it just stays acting like it's uploading for hours. Actually, I let it run from afternoon one day, and then went to bed, woke up, and it was still going...so that's like 12 hours or so.

The Geek
02-05-2006, 01:03 AM
hmmmm. I guessI should put together a method for file access.

Bad Bunny
02-05-2006, 03:48 AM
If there were a way to point it to an already uploaded file behind the www folder, that would be really radical.

The Geek
02-05-2006, 11:44 AM
Ill look into it. I did look into it awhile ago for another user and found a possible way to do it. The key problem is that if the file is in the file system, its easier to fake the url and download it without being in the right usergroup. Anyhoo, ill look into it... but it may not be for a few weeks.

Bad Bunny
02-06-2006, 03:05 PM
That's cool. Thanks.

I hacked up a solution before you ever did Geeker. And it works ok for now, but will take a lot of work to add or change any products for download.

Bryan
02-07-2006, 02:36 AM
Ill look into it. I did look into it awhile ago for another user and found a possible way to do it. The key problem is that if the file is in the file system, its easier to fake the url and download it without being in the right usergroup. Anyhoo, ill look into it... but it may not be for a few weeks.


That would be great! :)

The site that I put GeekMart on will have digital scrapbooking kits; they are zip files with large images...between 5 and 40 megs usually.

I was using a script called "Secure Downloads" from shackrats hideout, but it has been abandoned apparently. It allowed you to specify a folder that was above the webroot that the files were stored in, therefore only accessible using the script.

The Geek
02-07-2006, 09:07 AM
Ill check it out when I can stabalize a couple open projects

Bryan
02-07-2006, 02:19 PM
Great! Thanks :)

edder
07-08-2006, 01:57 AM
Yeah, I tried to use Geeker, but found out I couldn't, cause it wouldn't upload my files. I don't remember there being anything about the maximum file size, and I don't actually recall any error. It just didn't work.
The "max_packet_size" is defined by the MYSQL settings of your server.

If you have a VPS or a dedicated server with a Linux OS you can change this value yourself by SSH'ing into root.

To change your server's default value (1mb), follow these instructions.

Copy the my-xxx.cnf file from /usr/share/mysql to /etc as my.cnf

xxx can be small, medium, large, huge ... depending on the requirement.

$ cp /usr/share/mysql/my-xxx.cnf /etc/my.cnf

In the my.cnf file, change the default
max_allowed_packet = 1M
to
max_allowed_packet = 16M

Then restart MYSQL and you should be good to go.